|
-
December 21st, 2004, 01:55 AM
#1
SpywareBlaster, or NOT???
When doing a search for SpywareBlaster, more than one product with that name is listed. I'm familiar with the one that blocks ads and prevents spyware from being loaded, but there is also this one.
ht tp://ww w.spywareblaster.com/
This one is a remover, but the page shows an unmistakeable "SpywareBlaster" with a trademark symbol at the end. The product is not free if you want it to remove some spyware, which to me, automatically makes it suspect. I don't know anything about it.
Does anyone know anything about this remover product? Good? Bad? Bogus? What?
-
December 21st, 2004, 02:44 AM
#2
Hi, yes these guys will try anything to rope you in, definitely not the genuine article they are selling a product called spyware remover note it is not SpywareBlaster. Have a look here( link thanks to sparky):-
http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_...e.htm#products
-
December 21st, 2004, 03:02 AM
#3
Thanks Jenae, that is what I wanted to know.
spywareblaster.com
pushes rogue/suspect products (currently, BPS Spyware & Adware Remover); exploits name SpywareBlaster; Note: this site has no relation to JavaCool's SpywareBlaster program
I'll include the link to JavaCool whenever I suggest using SpywareBlaster from now on.
-
December 21st, 2004, 12:57 PM
#4
oldhermit--Presume you have the URL for the real SpywareBlaster download.
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
Jim
WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall
-
December 21st, 2004, 03:08 PM
#5
Spywarrior.com didn't mention anything in particular that Spyware Remover does to the computer, but typically if a computer didn't have any spyware or viruses before, it probably will after a program like this one is installed. Something will be wrong.
The real JavaCool SpywareBlaster provides a very reliable service for many computer users, and they make it very obvious that the services are free.
-
December 21st, 2004, 06:45 PM
#6
They're using the typical searchbait tactics. On the bottom left you can barely make out other links. Note how they're trying to rope in the unsuspecting with "SpyBot" as well? (false color to get it to show. In FF you can't even see the little squares):
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|