Spam with Virus Links
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Spam with Virus Links

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    San Diego County, CA
    Posts
    255

    Spam with Virus Links

    I keep getting Spam from a Victor Sazhin on my Yahoo account.
    I believe I orig connected to the Web site link on Virtualdr some months ago from a response to a *****y i made.
    the link from someone may have been to Downloadscenter.com and once there I believe i tried to link to a spam removal tool that was from Victor Sazhin.
    the latest spam email has a subject:
    FDC #161 Download link for Lockspam free
    It takes you to downloadscenter.com and everything there seems to be another virus.
    I would recommend everyone DO NOT go to that link if you get a mail from Victor Sazhin or a link from anyone that takes you to downloadscenter.com
    The Email address is a Robot called:
    newsrobot@freedownloadscenter
    (I left off the dot com so no one will click on to the email link and get on his mailing list.)
    Can anyone recommend how to trace this back and get the originator prosecuted?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,104
    I did a search with Yahoo for "Victor Sazhin" (with the quotes) and got all kinds of hits. Suggest you start there.

    Not sure how you would get someone prosecuted for sending spam to a Yahoo email account, but if you can, more power to you. My Yahoo accounts get enough spam to keep a Judge busy for years.
    ** **
    We use our powers for good, not evil

    ** **
    Logic is a systematic method of coming to the wrong
    conclusion with confidence.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    EnZed
    Posts
    2,532
    Spam from a Victor Sazhin
    I subscribe to the FreeDownloadsCentre newsletter. It's not SPAM. It is a legitimate newsletter. This is one instance where I can say use the unsubscribe function if you want to stop getting it.

    It takes you to downloadscenter.com and everything there seems to be another virus.
    I have visited the sites linked in the newsletter #161 and other Mod staff have downloaded and scanned the download files concerned and found no evidence of virus activity.

    I would suggest the problem may be with your system, not that site?
    smurfy
    Linux Counter #318033 Free yourself - Get Linux now
    Running:
    Ubuntu, OpenSuse, Mandriva, FedoraCore, Debian, Slackware and various Windows versions

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •