Another eBay scam?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Another eBay scam?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648

    Another eBay scam?

    I got an email, supposedly from eBay at one of my email addresses, but not my eBay address. It says I've been billed $15. But I haven't done any business with eBay recently.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    My Velociraptor
    Anything and Everything

    No viruses, worms, trojans or spyware welcome on THIS computer. >:-(

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    26,543
    What does your account info at Ebay say? It's hard to see the scam when they're telling you to go to Ebay itself and check your account without displaying something like a false link to click on so they can steal the info.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    I think it's a scam because the address they sent it to is not my eBay address, nor have I used that address there ever. And I haven't done anything at eBay in a month.
    My Velociraptor
    Anything and Everything

    No viruses, worms, trojans or spyware welcome on THIS computer. >:-(

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere
    Posts
    7,355
    I would contact Ebay directly and see if they know anything.
    Who are you? Introduce yourself here

    P3-450 powered by

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Gigabyte 965P DQ6
    4 Gig Crucial Ballistix PC6400
    Gainward Nvidia Geforce 7950GT
    2X Western Digital Caviar 320GB SATA2
    Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    Samsung SH-D162C DVD Rom
    Lite-On SHM-165P6S DVDRW
    Samsung 20" LCD Syncmaster 206BW
    Thermaltake Kandalf VA9000SWA Tower
    Tagan Dual Engine 700W PSU
    XP PRO SP3/Windows 7 64-bit
    --------------
    Samsung NC10 2GB Ram
    Windows 7 32-bit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    2,691
    I've gotten the same e-mail twice and at an e-mail address that I've never used on eBay. Must be Phishing...
    "Dreams are born in your heart and in your mind, only there can they ever die." - Art Berg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    26,543
    you mean that they're hoping you're going to send them the acc't info directly by return email rather than going to ebay itself?

    That hadn't occured to me. I would never have thought anyone would do that.

    In that case I would contact ebay and give them all the details of that email so they can procede with legal options if they want/can.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cheshire UK
    Posts
    10,060
    You might find its an HTML email and the link are to a spoof site not ebays.
    You know the sort enter details............ sorry the system is down please try again later.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Keizer,Orygun USofA
    Posts
    10,636
    Sounds to me like a take off on this one: http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/securit...0279354,00.htm
    Stupid question? No such thing!
    Virtual Dr. to the rescue!
    Just ask. Bookmark your post for easy reference.
    ==================================

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Ogdensburg,NY USA
    Posts
    4,535
    Contact eBay through safe harbour and send them the email. They'll get back to you. eBay doesn't send emails looking for your personal info. They due, how ever, send notices that you account has been debited for the amount you owe them.
    The true test of character is not how much we
    know how to do, but how we behave when we don't know what to do

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •