|
-
October 6th, 2003, 04:04 PM
#1
XP Pro for $50 -- is this legit?
If this is an incorrect place for this question, please pardon, but I got some e-mail, and you may have gotten the same, and one of the offers is this one: "Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2002 - retail price: $270.99 ; our price: $50.00." It says, also: "WHY SO CHEAP?? It's because all the software is OEM - Meaning that you don't get the box and the manual with your software (this has made we can sell the software at low price without spending on the eye-catching box & printing the manual). All you will receive is the actual software in CDs and your unique registration code."
Is this a legit offer? Sounds like something is not right, since even OEM XP has to be registered, and it is one to a unit.
JGB
-
October 6th, 2003, 04:11 PM
#2
OEM versions of Windows are a lot cheaper that retail boxed. Having said that, $50 seems way too cheap - also it's only supposed to be sold with hardware (though some places seem to consider a cable enough qualification!).
I would be very suspicious insofar as you got the offer in an unsolicited email - nearly all of those offers are dodgy in some way or other.
You could contact MS themselves, I'm sure they'd be happy to advise:
http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/
Nick.
-
October 6th, 2003, 04:14 PM
#3
Have you checked this co. out with the BBB or at resellerratings.com? http://www.resellerratings.com/
betting it will flop...
-
October 6th, 2003, 04:30 PM
#4
I have not tried to check it out with BBB, since I doubt there is any place listed for an address. The Norton Sys Works was about $40, which is more than another offer I have in e-mail. Yes, this was unsolicited, BTW. Knowing each XP has to have a number to go with each computer, this seemed bogus. But I understand there are ways around the registration code. I am not trying to get around the code, BTW. I have paid voluntarily for some of those programs is which the author is putting it out there as "shareware" but does not have a "kill code" in it, and says that if it works, give a donation. Fair enough. I do not know how to program, and have no desire to learn. I think it is great for someone to do that. The address is of this is [email protected]/foryou. Thanks for replying.
JGB
-
October 6th, 2003, 04:35 PM
#5
Definitely dodgy, you should leave it well alone. I got a "page cannot be displayed" on that link, but no legitimate reseller would have an URL like that.
Nearly all those SystemWorks offers are pirate copies as well BTW.
Nick.
-
October 6th, 2003, 05:14 PM
#6
You can buy an OEM copy from newegg, but the price is $144, and it's legit. Just bought a copy for my church.
I would pass on that offer and add them to my blacklist.
-
October 6th, 2003, 05:43 PM
#7
I posted the whole address given when I held the curser over the link. When I clicked on the link, however, it brought me to this address: http://wlycos.com/foryou/. It will give you the site, and there are other items there. Check that out. I gave a bum address at first. My fault.
JGB
-
October 6th, 2003, 05:49 PM
#8
This is Reseller Ratings view
hmm interesting
Who are you? Introduce yourself here
P3-450 powered by
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Gigabyte 965P DQ6
4 Gig Crucial Ballistix PC6400
Gainward Nvidia Geforce 7950GT
2X Western Digital Caviar 320GB SATA2
Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Samsung SH-D162C DVD Rom
Lite-On SHM-165P6S DVDRW
Samsung 20" LCD Syncmaster 206BW
Thermaltake Kandalf VA9000SWA Tower
Tagan Dual Engine 700W PSU
XP PRO SP3/Windows 7 64-bit
--------------
Samsung NC10 2GB Ram
Windows 7 32-bit
-
October 6th, 2003, 05:50 PM
#9
Hmmm, MS Visual Studio .Net Enterprise Architect, list price $2499.99 (that's about right), Our Price $200, you save $2300. I think that says it all. There is just no way that that's a legit site. I would still urge you to contact MS though, they'll tell you for sure.
Nick.
-
October 6th, 2003, 05:51 PM
#10
If you want to check out the site, the URL is: http://www.wlycos.com/
If you look around the site it tells you the software is shipped from "Eastern Europe".
It appears to be illegally copied CD's, but I don't know why they have such a variety of prices. The "copy" sites I've run across in the past generally charge a flat fee ($20.00 or so) for each CD, regardless of the software title.
-
October 6th, 2003, 06:13 PM
#11
Hi, first comment, you refer to registration, this is actually optional what the site is saying refers to Windows product activation. They come out of Russia and use a third party to collect their money,( nothing wrong with that, however if you want to blur your tracks this is the way to do it) . I would have to say this one falls under "there is no such thing as a free lunch"
-
October 6th, 2003, 06:28 PM
#12
We ship by international airmail free of charge. The time of delivery depends on your location. But usually it takes 2-4 weeks when you chose our free shipping option.
Please be patient while waiting for your order. Sometimes delivery could take up to 6 weeks. But it is worth waiting for you software rather than paying hundreds more.
Where does this software comes from ?
The software is shipped from Eastern Europe.
carts link goto
https://www.smart-payments.com/cgi-bin/join.cgi?m=324
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...om&sa=N&tab=wg
you could find more innuendo in the hardware forum than I put in that joke in the "lounge"
Give me a break !
-
October 6th, 2003, 06:38 PM
#13
"Legal"? Maybe. Microsoft has NOT authorized such selling although they know it goes on. MICROSOFT WILL NOT SUPPORT SUCH INSTALLATION.
Read the EULA.
That said, I had a OEM copy of 98 and it worked as well as a retail version. XP is NOT the ame as 98, it can be inspected (and rejected?) by Bill when you are online.
-
October 6th, 2003, 06:52 PM
#14
I've seen the same ad at a different URL.
http://www.cdatlow.com/
-
October 6th, 2003, 07:18 PM
#15
yeah nice little scam someones got there
you could find more innuendo in the hardware forum than I put in that joke in the "lounge"
Give me a break !
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|