XP Pro for $50 -- is this legit?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: XP Pro for $50 -- is this legit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Posts
    951

    XP Pro for $50 -- is this legit?

    If this is an incorrect place for this question, please pardon, but I got some e-mail, and you may have gotten the same, and one of the offers is this one: "Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2002 - retail price: $270.99 ; our price: $50.00." It says, also: "WHY SO CHEAP?? It's because all the software is OEM - Meaning that you don't get the box and the manual with your software (this has made we can sell the software at low price without spending on the eye-catching box & printing the manual). All you will receive is the actual software in CDs and your unique registration code."
    Is this a legit offer? Sounds like something is not right, since even OEM XP has to be registered, and it is one to a unit.
    JGB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,565
    OEM versions of Windows are a lot cheaper that retail boxed. Having said that, $50 seems way too cheap - also it's only supposed to be sold with hardware (though some places seem to consider a cable enough qualification!).

    I would be very suspicious insofar as you got the offer in an unsolicited email - nearly all of those offers are dodgy in some way or other.

    You could contact MS themselves, I'm sure they'd be happy to advise:

    http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/
    Nick.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Keizer,Orygun USofA
    Posts
    10,636
    Have you checked this co. out with the BBB or at resellerratings.com? http://www.resellerratings.com/
    betting it will flop...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Posts
    951
    I have not tried to check it out with BBB, since I doubt there is any place listed for an address. The Norton Sys Works was about $40, which is more than another offer I have in e-mail. Yes, this was unsolicited, BTW. Knowing each XP has to have a number to go with each computer, this seemed bogus. But I understand there are ways around the registration code. I am not trying to get around the code, BTW. I have paid voluntarily for some of those programs is which the author is putting it out there as "shareware" but does not have a "kill code" in it, and says that if it works, give a donation. Fair enough. I do not know how to program, and have no desire to learn. I think it is great for someone to do that. The address is of this is [email protected]/foryou. Thanks for replying.
    JGB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,565
    Definitely dodgy, you should leave it well alone. I got a "page cannot be displayed" on that link, but no legitimate reseller would have an URL like that.

    Nearly all those SystemWorks offers are pirate copies as well BTW.
    Nick.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Banning, CA, USA
    Posts
    330
    You can buy an OEM copy from newegg, but the price is $144, and it's legit. Just bought a copy for my church.
    I would pass on that offer and add them to my blacklist.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Posts
    951
    I posted the whole address given when I held the curser over the link. When I clicked on the link, however, it brought me to this address: http://wlycos.com/foryou/. It will give you the site, and there are other items there. Check that out. I gave a bum address at first. My fault.
    JGB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere
    Posts
    7,355
    This is Reseller Ratings view

    hmm interesting
    Who are you? Introduce yourself here

    P3-450 powered by

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Gigabyte 965P DQ6
    4 Gig Crucial Ballistix PC6400
    Gainward Nvidia Geforce 7950GT
    2X Western Digital Caviar 320GB SATA2
    Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    Samsung SH-D162C DVD Rom
    Lite-On SHM-165P6S DVDRW
    Samsung 20" LCD Syncmaster 206BW
    Thermaltake Kandalf VA9000SWA Tower
    Tagan Dual Engine 700W PSU
    XP PRO SP3/Windows 7 64-bit
    --------------
    Samsung NC10 2GB Ram
    Windows 7 32-bit

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,565
    Hmmm, MS Visual Studio .Net Enterprise Architect, list price $2499.99 (that's about right), Our Price $200, you save $2300. I think that says it all. There is just no way that that's a legit site. I would still urge you to contact MS though, they'll tell you for sure.
    Nick.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Pensylvania
    Posts
    286
    If you want to check out the site, the URL is: http://www.wlycos.com/

    If you look around the site it tells you the software is shipped from "Eastern Europe".

    It appears to be illegally copied CD's, but I don't know why they have such a variety of prices. The "copy" sites I've run across in the past generally charge a flat fee ($20.00 or so) for each CD, regardless of the software title.

  11. #11
    jenae is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,702
    Hi, first comment, you refer to registration, this is actually optional what the site is saying refers to Windows product activation. They come out of Russia and use a third party to collect their money,( nothing wrong with that, however if you want to blur your tracks this is the way to do it) . I would have to say this one falls under "there is no such thing as a free lunch"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    557
    We ship by international airmail free of charge. The time of delivery depends on your location. But usually it takes 2-4 weeks when you chose our free shipping option.

    Please be patient while waiting for your order. Sometimes delivery could take up to 6 weeks. But it is worth waiting for you software rather than paying hundreds more.



    Where does this software comes from ?
    The software is shipped from Eastern Europe.


    carts link goto
    https://www.smart-payments.com/cgi-bin/join.cgi?m=324



    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...om&sa=N&tab=wg
    you could find more innuendo in the hardware forum than I put in that joke in the "lounge"

    Give me a break !

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    United ?
    Posts
    925
    "Legal"? Maybe. Microsoft has NOT authorized such selling although they know it goes on. MICROSOFT WILL NOT SUPPORT SUCH INSTALLATION.

    Read the EULA.

    That said, I had a OEM copy of 98 and it worked as well as a retail version. XP is NOT the ame as 98, it can be inspected (and rejected?) by Bill when you are online.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    3,733
    I've seen the same ad at a different URL.

    http://www.cdatlow.com/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    557
    yeah nice little scam someones got there
    you could find more innuendo in the hardware forum than I put in that joke in the "lounge"

    Give me a break !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •