|
-
September 7th, 2011, 09:05 PM
#1
[RESOLVED] Microsoft Threats re. Hotmail
This is a letter I have received from Microsoft because I am a Hotmail user full time,
Dear Windows Live Account User
We are currently upgrading our email
database and e-mail account center
i.e homepage view, enhance security
installations of new 2011 anti-spam
and anti virus,large mailbox space.
we shall be deleting old Windows Live
email accounts which are no more active
to enable create more space for new
accounts users.
In other to continue using our services
you are require to update and re-comfirm
your Window Live email account details
as requested below:
Username:
Password:
Reconfirm Password:
Date of Birth:
Country or Territory:
Failure to do this will immediately render
your account deactivated from our database,
and service will not be interrupted as important
messages may as well be lost due to your
declining to re-comfirmed to us your account
details.
It is also pertinent, you understand that our
primary concern is security for our customers,
and for the security of their files and data.
Note: You have to fill the form and click on
reply to respond to this message.
Thanks for Your Understanding.
Technical Support/Maintainance Team.
Windows Live Email Network Coverage System.
There is "something" about this email that is suspicious. How can I prove it did come from Microsoft? Sentence structure and some spelling is questionable. Not a letter that should be sent out by Microsoft--too many discrepancies and I strongly suspect this a phishing scam type letter.
As always, TIA
Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard
-
September 7th, 2011, 09:41 PM
#2
Seems to be another version of this.
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...4-18429208c6ae
MS and any legitimate company would not ask you to fill in passwords or login details and send it via email.
Nearly the exact same email has been cirulating since 2008 or before, and is detailed on dozens of anti-fraud and anti-spam sites.
Just the first couple of lines entered in a google search generates 97,600 results...
Last edited by General Winters; September 7th, 2011 at 09:51 PM.
Current PC
Zoostorm
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, (XP Mode virtual pc enabled)
WEI 7.4, 7.6, 7.9, 7.9, 5.9
Intel Core i5-2310, 8GB Ram
Geforce GTX 660 OC
Samsung Syncmaster SA300 23.6" monitor
Folding@home
User Name Sintares
Team guru3d
There is no such thing as overkill. 'Open fire' and 'is it dead?' are the only sane options when threatened.
-
September 7th, 2011, 11:31 PM
#3
bad grammar = scam to obtain access to your account by spammers
-
September 8th, 2011, 01:32 AM
#4
No legit email service or any on line service for that matter will ever ask you for your password.
-
September 8th, 2011, 04:55 AM
#5
I agree. Add sender to blocked sender's list, and delete the email.
-
September 8th, 2011, 10:17 AM
#6
A classic example of a Phishing email. As the others have said, the bad grammar is always a dead giveaway. Then the information they are asking for should start ringing alarm bells - there is no possible reason for them to ask for your password (if MS don't already know it, you couldn't ever log in to your Live account). Plus you should ask yourself if it is credible that a company with the resources of Microsoft would be so hard up for disk space that they would need to remove old accounts.
Nick.
-
September 8th, 2011, 12:10 PM
#7
OK. Your analysis matched mine exactly. I knew how I was going to treat the request but there are a few people who will respond, unfortunately. Those rascals will stoop far far below the norm of human beings to steal from the unsuspecting any and everything possession they own. Thanks for the several comments.
Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|