|
-
June 1st, 2009, 05:15 AM
#1
[RESOLVED] Re:Website Norton Flags as unsafe
Hello all, when i come onto this website, Norton 360 Red flags it as Unsafe.
Here is a list of the problems it comes up with in its report.
•Threats
•Community Buzz
•login
•signup
•feedback
norton rating
Site Owner? Click here virtualdr.com
Summary
•Computer Threats: 23
•Identity Threats: 0
•Annoyance factors: 0
Total threats on this site: 23
•Community Reviews: 0
The Norton rating is a result of Symantec's automated analysis system. Learn more. The opinions of our users are reflected separately in the community rating on the right.
General Info Web Site Location United States of America
Norton Safe Web has analyzed virtualdr.com for safety and security problems. Below is a sample of the threats that were found.
Threat Report
Total threats found: 23
Viruses (what's this?)
Threats found: 22
Here is a sample:
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/pri...d.php?t=160149
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/arc...7.html?login=1
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...03&postcount=1
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...64&postcount=6
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...03&postcount=1
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...19&postcount=3
Threat Name: Direct link to Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...d.php?t=163727
Threat Name: Direct link to Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...03&postcount=1
Threat Name: Direct link to Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/arc.../t-163727.html
Direct link to: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/arc...6.html?login=1
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/arc.../t-168356.html
Drive-By Downloads (what's this?)
Threats found: 1
Here is a complete list:
Threat Name: Bloodhound.Exploit.6
File name: C:\Documents and Settings\user\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\W96RIBA9\showpost[1].htm
Signature (MD5): 3306f12c63b69f963c686bd1a291f2a5
Location: http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...03&postcount=1
Can you let me know if the above is a problem, and also how to stop it red flagging virtualdr's website, GEP
Vista-Internet Explorer Ver:8
-
June 1st, 2009, 11:23 AM
#2
That is what Norton does, because we help folks who post HJT logs.
Now you have two choices, live with Norton's garbage or get rid of Nortons.
And folks wonder why lot of us , I will say, "do not care" for nortons!!!
-
June 1st, 2009, 11:27 AM
#3
Norton 2009 flags VirtualDr with a red tag and temporary poopup, but does not otherwise affect access to the site.
-
June 1st, 2009, 12:13 PM
#4
DO you have a way in 360 to submit corrections to Safe Web? If so, you might do it so they can get things set right...
-
June 1st, 2009, 02:00 PM
#5
We went through this in 2006 with McAfee. They see our members' HJT logs and report the contents of those posted scans as actual malware. To add to the problem, Norton gets panned unmercifully here at times and I bet some of it is sour grapes.
As Train says, consider how effective Norton can be if it can't properly report a known safe website as such.
Last edited by lgbpop; June 1st, 2009 at 02:04 PM.
-
June 1st, 2009, 03:35 PM
#6
Get rid of Norton. Use WOT. Its free.
http://www.mywot.com/
-
June 2nd, 2009, 07:22 AM
#7
Re:How to stop
Hello all, i have got rid of Norton in the past, and chosen other free ones, they have also caused some problems. I know it can hog resources etc, but, this Norton 360 seems alot better than the old Norton versions, and i know it does the job.
Re:the red flag, i know that people post malware problems here, i have in the past, just was not 100% sure of why it was flagging.
Shows though it is doing a thorough job.
As to getting rid, not really, as Norton seems to be doing a good job at present, maybe others with Norton can post to get rid of some of the objections to it, especially the 360 version.
Obviously if there is Malware etc on a website for any reason, then Norton is correct in giving a warning.
Just that i know you good folks and this website as i continue to come here when i have a problem, and even when i don't.
Maybe Norton is getting it right, or at least attempting to correct our attitudes towards it of the past.
I will take a look to see if i can register a good website Han.
Thanks for all your answers and your good work in giving solutions through the years, GEP
-
June 2nd, 2009, 09:10 AM
#8
My Avast a/v flags a couple of those VRDR links as unsafe as well.
It was easy, though, to add virtualdr.com to the exceptions list so
it no longer interferes with my seeing those pages.
-
June 2nd, 2009, 03:33 PM
#9
Going to at least one of the links in gep's first post gets my Norton AV to popup a box saying it blocked Bloodhound.Exploit.6
Since this has not happened to me (for years or ever) when I surf the internet in general or specifically VirtualDr pages I assume the problem (if it exists at all) is only with old VDr pages.
Once on someone's list, it may be hard to get off. Any one from VDr management care to comment?
Jim
WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall
-
June 2nd, 2009, 04:02 PM
#10
Looks as if Norton has finally decided that five-year-old malware is a threat.
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|