IP trace
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IP trace

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wine country N.Y.
    Posts
    1,602

    IP trace

    Hi folks, is it possible to trace an email sent to me back to the sender. I can post it if that is prudent. Or are there any programs to trace the sender. I have had a couple of people trying to scam me for motorcycle parts I would like to buy. One of them already got me. I am trying to prevent it from happening again. I have a rather rare bike I am trying to restore and parts are hard to come by and its seems as though some out there are aware of this and are trying to profit from it. Thanks

    PS: the one who got me is from the UK
    Happiness is a journey, not a destination. So work like you don't need money, Ride like you've never crashed, and dance like no one's watching!!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,391
    Mission impossible. Why, that machine is probably a ZOMBIE and is just doing what it is told to do.

    Someone thinks he owns the machine, but that email tells us someone else does.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    18,428
    You may be able to trace back to the senders server if he didn't run the e-mail through sever forwarding servers. Not much guarantee though.

    Links:

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&e...header&spell=1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wine country N.Y.
    Posts
    1,602
    Thanks guys, I think I am getting close. I am sure Train is right on. The individual claims to be from MI. But I keep ending up in Cal. The internet is a big place and easy to hide in.
    Happiness is a journey, not a destination. So work like you don't need money, Ride like you've never crashed, and dance like no one's watching!!!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    26,544
    The email header analysis and SMTP verify in samspade can be useful if it's a legit email (prolly isn't though)

    http://majorgeeks.com/Sam_Spade_d594.html
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •