|
-
August 24th, 2007, 08:16 AM
#1
Beware on Spybot S&D updates (I think)
When I tried to see if any updates are available today for Spybot: I get this warning from Kaspersky that I'm being redirected to: old.ccrdude.net.
There are several warnings on the safer networking forums, and other sites when I googled that.
Maybe dangerous, maybe not?
Until someone determines what exactly this is, I would be careful.
Personally, I chose to block that site.
Any opinions from the resident experts much appreciated!
Steve_83
-
August 24th, 2007, 10:34 AM
#2
From here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r188...date-Spybot-SD
appears to be shared hosting/mirroring:
"Results returned from whois.schlund.info:
domain: ccrdude.net
created: 15-Feb-2007
last-changed: 29-May-2007
registration-expiration: 15-Feb-2008
nserver: ns55.1und1.de
nserver: ns56.1und1.de
status: CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED
registrant-firstname: Patrick Michael
registrant-lastname: Kolla
registrant-organization: Safer Networking Limited Inh: Patrick Michael Kolla
registrant-street1: Mill Road, Watson & Johnson Centre
registrant-pcode: 0000
registrant-state: CW
registrant-city: Greystones, County Wicklow
registrant-ccode: IE
registrant-phone: +353.12870707
registrant-fax: +353.12870707
registrant-email: [email protected]
admin-c-firstname: Patrick Michael
admin-c-lastname: Kolla "
-
August 24th, 2007, 01:32 PM
#3
CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED
I recognize the safer networking portion.
Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?
Thanks for the reply, btw.
Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps.
Steve_83
-
August 24th, 2007, 02:08 PM
#4
Maybe that's a backup server of some sort? The name on the registrant info is the name of the main person behind Spybot. I updated and ran a scan with Spybot earlier today though, the only sites that my firewall reported that Spybot connected to were safer-networking.org and spybotupdates.com.
-
August 24th, 2007, 04:16 PM
#5
[Resolved]
Thanks Syzich 
I guess I won't sweat it next time, if that even happens.
I had just updated my Kaspersky Labs protection to version 7.0.0.125 so I figured I'd start getting a few of these warnings: I can't tell what 1/2 of them are without asking.
If someone walked up to you on the street and and said: "Schovst You Jack!"
What would your reaction be? 
Steve_83
-
August 24th, 2007, 08:24 PM
#6
 Originally Posted by steve_83
I recognize the safer networking portion.
Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?
Thanks for the reply, btw.
Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps.
Steve_83
No worries, sorry I wasn't able to get back on this sooner, sleepy time here in Australia! 
The Client Transfer Prohibited is just an administrative status for the Domain Name:
"Transfer Prohibited: The domain name is restricted from being transferred to another registrar."
http://www.pir.org/Search/WhoisHelp.aspx
It looks to me like it is an alternative server, so I expect it should be safe.
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|