|
-
January 11th, 2006, 02:44 PM
#1
xp pro gold reloaded????
i have just purchased a 2nd hand laptop with win 98. i was browsing for info on 98 when i happenned upon windows xp pro gold reloaded. i believe this to be a warez site and fearing for the safety of my computer, checked it out anyway. there was a screenshot of the box, complete with bad gramar in the system requirements (reverse of box screenshot). i have searched the microsoft website but have found nothing. i dont want to use this and have no real need to know about it. i was just interested on peoples opinions on this. im sure it comes with virae, spyware, adware and whatever else comes with the new releases of microshaft software. am i wrong? is this a legit os?
SANITY IS JUST A STATE OF MIND
-
January 11th, 2006, 02:48 PM
#2
Looks to be a copy of XP Pro, probably just cracked and full of cr@pware, a quick search brought up an illegal torrent site to download it, so i'm thinking it's not too legal....my guess is a highly modified version of Pro, and i wouldn't wanna trust whoever created it.
Liam
Desktop:I5 2500K|Asus P8Z68-V|8GB Corsair Vengeance|1280MB Nvidia 560 TI PE|1TB Seagate/60GB OCZ SSD|LG Blu-ray Writer|Corsair 750W
27" iMac:I5 2500S|12GB Crucial DDR3|ATI 1GB 6970|1TB|Superdrive|Mighty Mouse 
-
January 11th, 2006, 02:53 PM
#3
The term "gold" means that Windows activation has been disabled. Definately pirated software.
-
January 12th, 2006, 04:18 AM
#4
"Gold" is often used in software circles to refer to the first commercial release version of software. It's the "reloaded" bit which makes me suspicious.
Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.
-
January 12th, 2006, 08:04 AM
#5
Thanks for the additional "gold" info. In this case some of the additional features are..
The most important differnce between the origial version and this "Gold Reloaded version" is that the Windows File protection has been disabled; the annoying Windows file protection error message has been disabled. The installation will not require activation and registration!
From a warez site that the program is available from.
-
January 12th, 2006, 11:03 AM
#6
disgraceful that pirated software can be advertised. cant the websites be closed down or something? i pitty the fool who 'upgrades' his windows to this (excuse the mr t moment)
SANITY IS JUST A STATE OF MIND
-
January 12th, 2006, 11:30 AM
#7
Sometimes they are closed down but often they're located in countries that are disinterested in prosecuting copyright crimes.
-
January 13th, 2006, 06:03 AM
#8
You can always shoot a quick email to piracy at microsoft.com (in this sort of case), or fill out the form at the BSA or something. It can take a while for them to react fully, but then occasionally you see one of those shops with a familiar name on a list like http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/partners/alerts.mspx.
Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|