|
-
October 18th, 2002, 11:01 PM
#1
Firewall issue (Sygate)
Hi, I recently discovered something very strange happening with regards to my firewall.
I use "Sygate Personal Firewall", and I noticed that when my computer was idle, I was seeing traffic being blocked in the firewall icon far more often than normal.
So I just looked in the log and I see what was going on, and I discovered 100s of hits, all from the same IP (10.x.x.x), all going to the "Destination Host" 255.255.255.255 on my machine. The rate of hits seems random, but I get about 5 per minute on average. I have a cable connection and just got a new modem from my ISP, and I think the problem has only been happening since then, but I can't be sure.
I don't think anything malicious is going on, but this can't be normal. It might be some issue between my ISP and myself, and I would appreciate any help stopping this, because it is very annoying.
Last edited by Ice9; October 19th, 2002 at 10:35 PM.
-
October 19th, 2002, 02:06 PM
#2
Do you have a home network? A 10.x.x.x address is a private address.
It is probably not coming from your isp. That address may be the firewall testing itself.
-
October 19th, 2002, 07:03 PM
#3
I'm not completely clear on this, but cable modems use an internal IP, this way the cable company can check on the modem.
Do a tracert to yahoo.com or something, What I get is a 10.x.x.x address as the first hop.
Pakrat - A+, Network+
-
October 19th, 2002, 10:41 PM
#4
Originally posted by Pakrat
I'm not completely clear on this, but cable modems use an internal IP, this way the cable company can check on the modem.
Do a tracert to yahoo.com or something, What I get is a 10.x.x.x address as the first hop.
Thanks Pakrat, that was a good idea.
That 10.x.x.x address was indeed the first hop on the tracert, so the idea that is an "internal" IP makes sense.
I still don't get why modem is trying to connect with "255.255.255.255" though. I did check my "winipcfg" and my subnet mask shows up as "255.255.255.0". I don't know if that has anything to do with this or not.
-
October 19th, 2002, 11:45 PM
#5
Unless you are trying to set up an internet server with lots of aliases, you are almost certainly seeing the efforts of a script kiddy to work with a trojan. If you ain't got a trojan, you are safe. If your firewall is blocking the stuff, you are safe.
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|