|
-
November 10th, 2005, 10:31 AM
#1
OLD News to some..new to me
Last edited by smitee; November 10th, 2005 at 10:35 AM.
smitee
HP Vectra XM2 4/66i 24MG AST SVGA-LR Win95 4.00.950 B Outpost Firewall SNRMicro systems AV 
current: Acer Aspire One 1.6 Ghz 2 gig mem Win XP Avast-Immunet AV
-
November 16th, 2005, 06:34 PM
#2
That's a hoax site. Those pics come from elsewhere and have nothing to do with that computer. It had a lot of people going for a while though when it first came out a few months ago 
(the letter is a forgery too. The letterhead is wrong and that person doesn't work for that org)
EDIT- http://www.engadget.com/entry/1234000317047049/
-
November 16th, 2005, 07:29 PM
#3
I kinda figured that was a hoax when I noticed the traffic counter at the bottom: "Certified by Alexa."
-
November 17th, 2005, 02:49 PM
#4
Thanks for the response fink..and the link
As usual I was totally "taken in"..
A scary thought though..not that most people have anything sinster in mind to start with.
Regards
smitee
-
November 17th, 2005, 09:06 PM
#5
snopes.com
when it smells like BS and looks like BS, check out snopes.com , a nice read about all the hoax's and urban legends...ya know, when someone clutters up your in box with "can you believe this happened" pictures and stories...i'll reply with the above address and that will be last time i get the stuff from them!
-
November 18th, 2005, 04:54 AM
#6
Good link wojo629..a keeper
smitee
Last edited by smitee; November 18th, 2005 at 04:57 AM.
Reason: mi speling aint tu gud!
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|