Creative Labs 2X CD
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Creative Labs 2X CD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    2,053

    Creative Labs 2X CD

    Hey Guys,
    Just another issue with this computer I bought. After I got the BIOS and FLOPPY issues resolved I had lost the CD drivers.

    I went to the Creative Labs site and downloaded the package for Win95 to support my model of CD (CR-563). When I had reinstalled Win95 it automatically loaded the drivers etc for the soundcard and CD. All works fine in Windows.

    My problem is getting the CD to work in DOS.
    In my autoexec.bat and config.sys files I added the following lines respectively;

    LH C:\CD\MSCDEX /D MSCD000 /L:F

    DEVICEHIGH=C:\CD\SBCD.SYS /D MSCD000 /L:F


    When I boot to Windows or do and F8 6.Command Prompt Only I get the following:

    CD-ROM Device Driver Version 4.22
    Copyright (C) Creative Technology LTD, and
    Copyright (C) Matshuhita etc. LTD>
    1990-1994 All RIghts Reserved
    DRIVE NAME = MSCD000
    Supporting the following units :

    SBCD001 : Interface board or CD_ROM drive is not ready.

    If CD-ROM drive is not ready, please set or turn on.
    <A>bort or <R>etry


    I have named the CD both MSCD000 and SBCD001 and neither works....

    Any help of course would be greatly appreciated........

    This is my first time using a CD/Soundcard interface...

    Thanks
    Dave



    ------------------
    Windows Tips *** Help others less fortunate.
    *** Help others less fortunate.

    JESUS IS LORD !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,441
    David
    When a cd is plugged into the sound card the order that the drivers load is important. You have to load the sound card drivers BEFORE the cdrom drivers. The sound card has to be initialized on the DOS level before the cdrom will work
    This is like plugging a lamp into a power strip, not turning the power strip on & expecting the lamp to work
    Hope that helps
    In the beginning there was the command line

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    2,053
    Hey PC,
    Thanks,
    I originally did not have the sound card files in my Config.sys (but the sound card worked in DOS!)

    Anyway, with the sound card loading first in the config.sys then the driver file, I still get the same error message as shown above....

    The CD Drivers came with 2 programs...Install.exe and Setup.exe...Setup.exe is for Win95 and run in DOS it boots me up into Windows. Install.exe which is for DOS, tells me that I have Windows95 on the machine and to use setup.exe...even though I am booting in pure DOS [F8 etc.].

    Any more ideas?
    Dave

    ------------------
    Windows Tips *** Help others less fortunate.
    *** Help others less fortunate.

    JESUS IS LORD !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,441
    What sound card is this beast plugged into?
    Are you sure you have the right drivers?
    The ones I got from creative had only sbcd.sys file_id & the licence agreement.
    How about posting your config.sys & autoexec.bat files?
    You could always do a Frankin fix. Drop 40 bucks for a 48x & call it done.
    In the beginning there was the command line

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,137
    Hi David!
    Just so happens I inherited a 486 Tandy with a 2X SB CD. It is pluged into its own interface card. I haven't experimented with it yet.

    The book shows config.sys=
    c:\sbcd\sbcd.sys /d:dev-name /p:xxx [/s:] [/a] [/x:1]

    where:
    /p:
    is 250 (default) or 260
    /n:
    is the number of CD drives installed
    [/s:
    is the mode A is auto, D is 2X speed and N is Normal (1X only??)
    /a delivers monaural to both channels
    [x:1]
    prevents error is eject command is not available.

    I believe the p:xxx is the only one required.

    I will probably experiment with my SB16 card to see if I can make that work.
    ------------------
    My

    Dennis
    Politalk

    [This message has been edited by Eeyore (edited 10-11-2000).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    26.03N 80.14W
    Posts
    9,410
    Dug around and found the bootup files for an old Sound Blaster setup. Here are the relevant lines:
     
    config.sys
     
       device=c:\sbpro\drv\sbpcd.sys /d:mscd001 /p:220
     
    autoexec.bat
     
       set sound=c:\sbpro
       set blaster=a220 i7 d1 t2
       c:\dos\mscdex.exe /v /d:mscd001 /m:15
    Vernon Frazee, Microsoft MVP (Windows - Shell/User)

    Defenses Up!
    Tip: When prompted for a password, give an incorrect one first. A phishing site will accept it; a legitimate one won't.


    Inside Spyware: A Guide to Finding, Removing and Preventing Online Pests


    If you don't keep up with security fixes, your computer|network won't be yours for long.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    2,053
    Hey Guys,
    Thanks for all the syntax,
    Last night I loaded the DOS only drivers and it almost started. It showed the card was set at 220 and the CD at 230. I will have time to play with it this evening, and I will post up for you all my autoexec and config files for your perusal.
    Have a nice day
    Dave
    P.C. It is a Soundblaster CT1759.
    CD Is a CR 563-B.

    ------------------
    Windows Tips *** Help others less fortunate.
    *** Help others less fortunate.

    JESUS IS LORD !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    2,053
    Thanks again to the A Team.

    Using a combination of Dennis's and Vern's Syntax, and PC's advice to load the sound drivers first I ended up with this working combination

    CONFIG.SYS
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\SB16\DRV\CTSB16.SYS /UNIT=1 /BLASTER=A:220 I:7 D:1 H:5
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\SB16\DRV\CTMMSYS.SYS
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\CD1\SBCD.SYS /D:MSCD001 /P:220 /S



    AUTOEXEC.BAT
    SET BLASTER=A:220 I7 D1 H5 P300 T6
    SET SOUND=C:\SB16
    LH C:\CD1\MSCDEX.EXE /V /D:MSCD001 /M:8


    It took me less than an hour after work tonite to tinker and edit about 8 times to get the right combination....!!!

    YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST !!

    Dave




    ------------------
    Windows Tips *** Help others less fortunate.
    *** Help others less fortunate.

    JESUS IS LORD !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •