sat tv into computor
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: sat tv into computor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    99

    sat tv into computor

    hi
    I surf the net on my big tv and thought... why cant I have
    a small square top right of screen with all my satellite channels... 200 plus
    and maybe listen to the news or something while I surf .
    Ive got htmi cable plugged into my sky sat box
    that connects with a small HD Video capture and that goes into comp via usb.
    I managed to get a vid pic in obs studio but no sound
    from watching u tube vids I discovered the ... camera ... app in windows
    and got that up..... bingo ... great video picture but.... you ve guessed...
    no sound !
    that hdmi cable from sat box into the tv gives perfect sound and video .... just cant get sound on my comp ...
    any ideas what may be wrong ?
    thanks for comments and advice.
    Optiplex Dell Intel i7-2600 Quad Core 16GB RAM 240GB SSD + 1TB HDD WiFi Windows 10 Desktop PC Computer (Renewed)



    processor
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz

    ram
    16.0 GB (15.9 GB usable)

    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    25,537
    Go into sound properties and see if the source/input is the sat box. It may need to be manually selected.


    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-m...ngs-windows-11

    VirtualDr email notices are not working.
    Check back regularly for responses.

    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    99
    Ive been into sound settings again and again and got nowhere
    I was put onto a video yesterday and the guy said .... get up ... camera... the built in app on windows.... I never thought of that....
    I did this and got a great vid picture but... you ve guessed it .. no sound

    the guy in the video said an alternative is go to vlc media player
    on drop down list ... add media ...

    I did this and ended up with a black square... no video ... but..... great sound !

    I played apps at the same time and hit record in the camera app
    bingo I made a 1 min vid that had both sound and video .. and also perfect lip sync !

    so in a way I ve solved the problem... using 2 apps !
    it would be good to get both sound an d vision in the .... camera app
    but at least now I have all the astra channels available to watch or listen to
    while on my computor which is a big plus....
    I can record a vid clip any old time and I can take caps.... !

    To think Ive got a hdmi cable into my computor with both video and audio
    I should be getting both in the camera app ... but there are so many choices if
    I ve ticked the wrong box somewhere Im stuffed.... so easy to do !
    Optiplex Dell Intel i7-2600 Quad Core 16GB RAM 240GB SSD + 1TB HDD WiFi Windows 10 Desktop PC Computer (Renewed)



    processor
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz

    ram
    16.0 GB (15.9 GB usable)

    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    18,114
    You can get an HDMI audio extractor hardware device if you cannot get the software extraction working. That and smoe speakers, or a sound bar with HDMI audio extraction might solve your issue.

    What video capture hardware are you currently using? There might be a different unit that could do what you want.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    99
    QUOTE What video capture hardware are you currently using? There might be a different unit that could do what you want.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0895N9K...roduct_details
    Optiplex Dell Intel i7-2600 Quad Core 16GB RAM 240GB SSD + 1TB HDD WiFi Windows 10 Desktop PC Computer (Renewed)



    processor
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz

    ram
    16.0 GB (15.9 GB usable)

    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    18,114

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •