Monitor message
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Monitor message

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    563

    Monitor message

    What ho one and all,

    New monitor, Dell U2422H. Seems to be working just fine with DP from the Quadro P2000 GPU to the monitor.

    But when I turn off the computer or put it into hibernate, a system message appears; No DP signal from Device, followed by Going into Standby.

    What does it mean? Can I select something to remove the message as every time I see it, I tend to think something is not right?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,690
    That message just means that the monitor has detected that it is no longer receiving a signal from the computer, so it is going into power save mode. There may or may not be a monitor setting that you can change to turn off the message, but it is not hurting anything and is normal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    563
    Thanks; guess I leave it alone.

    Although on a similar mode, on booting, get the message, Scanning for Signal followed by No DP Signal from Device ... and then onto the desktop as normal.

    Does this imply the GPU is slower to boot than the monitor? Not that it is a big deal, just annoying.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,603
    Yes, I get a similar message all the time. It's easy to ignore.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,690
    The monitor is already powered up. It detects that the computer is powering up, but is not yet receiving an image to display until the computer at least gets to the point where it is sending an image to the monitor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    563
    Thanks. Pretty much what I figured, but I had never had this message with my previous monitor, which was connected by DVI.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •