New laptop not recognizing printer or visa versa
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: New laptop not recognizing printer or visa versa

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,050

    New laptop not recognizing printer or visa versa

    So I bought a new Acer laptop and have a 4 way printer from Canon that is about 2 years old.

    I cannot get the laptop to print to the printer. It does not show the printer under that section in settings as well. When I have tried to go to Canon and followed their instructions to connect the two, they gave me a iist of steps but when I get down to one of them the item they tell me I need to click on is not there, the same is true when I go to settijngs and try to add the printer to the computer. I get a similar set of steps but when I get to like the 4th or 5th step and it says to click on "item so and so" that item or none similar is there.

    I really need to print out some MRI results for a new doctoris unable to access.

    HELP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    What model of Canon printer do you have?

    How are you wanting to connect it to the computer? USB cable? Wired or wireless network?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,050
    It is a PixmaMX493 Or PixmaMX492 I cannot believe they put the serial # on it but no model number I have turned ever which way and no model number.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    22,028
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    How are you wanting to connect it to the computer? USB cable? Wired or wireless network?
    We need to know the answer for this too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    Yes, that Pixma has several potential connection methods. I recommend trying to get it working using a USB cable first. Once you have it connected and printing that way, we can work on getting it set up for other methods.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,592
    You didn't give the model of your laptop either. Is it running Windows 11? Did you download the latest drivers from Canon?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,050
    I am running Windows 10 but can update though not sure I will. Yes it is wireless and the last laptop I bought worked right off. Yes, wireless.

    I cannot set it up with USB since I am disabled and there is no place to set the printer near my laptop.

    I know nothing about uploading drivers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,592
    I never said anything about upgrading to Windows 11. You said you got a new laptop. Windows 10 is fine.

    You need to install the printer drivers first. It should prompt you to use USB or wireless.
    https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/p...s-inkjet/mx492

    This should be the direct software download link:
    https://pdisp01.c-wss.com/gdl/WWUFOR...mp=ABR&lang=EN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    Here are some links to set up the printer using wireless:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIpFBDdZWeU
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJnkk3d51co
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvbo3PvUNXQ

    https://www.google.com/search?q=cano...client=gws-wiz

    Note that you could still set it up using a USB cable as a temporary measure. Once you have the drivers installed and configured using a USB cable, you can set up the wireless connection, and, once that is working, disconnect the USB cable and it should still be possible to print using the wireless connection.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,050
    Yes I got to the place it wants my password so I typed in the letters of my password but now I need to type 3 numbers and I cannot get it to change back to numbers. Help

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    Where are you being asked to type in a password? I assume that it is NOT on your computer, since you should just be able to use the keyboard for that. Are you attempting to set up the printer using a control panel on the printer? Are you using a phone to set this up? I am confused. Note that I did NOT watch any of the videos from YouTube, since 1 - I do not have a Canon Pixma printer, and 2 - I am not going to watch a non-work-related video on a work computer. If you are attempting to follow the instructions on one of the videos, please tell us which video link you are attempting to use. I can then check it out when I have access to one of my personal computers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,592
    It sounds like you are trying to connect the printer to the wireless network. If you already had the printer on the network, you shouldn't have to add it again.

    As I mentioned before, you need to download the printer software and choose wireless when prompted. There shouldn't be any passwords.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,050
    I will be tied up today but I will get back to you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •