[RESOLVED] CAT8 Ethernet Cables
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] CAT8 Ethernet Cables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,018

    Resolved [RESOLVED] CAT8 Ethernet Cables

    I have two questions.

    First, I just placed an online order for CAT8 Ethernet cables for my computer to my router. Would there be any benefits using CAT8 for my computer or router?

    Second, if there are benefits, then when the cables come from Amazon, how do I test the legitimacy of the cable and that they are not selling to me, like CAT6 or CAT7?
    Originally wanted Millenium Falcon as nick but there is character limitation.
    Falcon Speed = Millenium Falcon = Light Speed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    Unless you have some amazingly fast Internet connectivity, chances are CAT5e cables would work fine. If you have greater than 1GB speeds on your local network, then higher spec cables would be useful.

    You probably cannot afford a tester that can do a comprehensive test of network cabling.

    https://www.flukenetworks.com/expert.../cable-testing

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,592
    Would there be any benefits using CAT8 for my computer or router?
    Probably not. I'd guess that your NIC and router/switch are 1 gigabit at best. The CAT8 is capable of faster speeds, but your NIC and router/switch would be the limiting factors.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,018
    Thank you to both. I will cancel my order.
    Originally wanted Millenium Falcon as nick but there is character limitation.
    Falcon Speed = Millenium Falcon = Light Speed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,018
    Have a similar question about getting a USB C extension cable. They are advertised on Amazon as 10, 20, 40 Gbps. Does this really makes a difference?
    Originally wanted Millenium Falcon as nick but there is character limitation.
    Falcon Speed = Millenium Falcon = Light Speed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    If you are actually needing the highest speed rating, it can make a difference.

    https://www.tripplite.com/products/u...ypes-standards

    https://www.techadvisor.com/feature/...ained-3801975/

    Check the user ratings on anything you are looking at purchasing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,018
    Those are good articles JDC. So it does not matter for network cables but it does matter for these USB cables.
    Originally wanted Millenium Falcon as nick but there is character limitation.
    Falcon Speed = Millenium Falcon = Light Speed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,720
    It matters for any cables, if your other components are capable of the higher speeds.

    In other words, your speed (USB, network, etc.) will be limited by the lowest spec component.

    Examples:

    Gigabit ethernet with Cat 3 cables = non-Gigabit speed.
    Cat 8 cable with 100 MB ethernet card = 100 MB ethernet speed

    USB 4 card with USB 2 cable = USB 2 speed.
    40 GB USB C cable with 10GB USB card = 10 GB USB speed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,018
    Got it. The examples are good. Thanks JDC.
    Originally wanted Millenium Falcon as nick but there is character limitation.
    Falcon Speed = Millenium Falcon = Light Speed

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •