Windows 10 activation
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Windows 10 activation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    479

    Windows 10 activation

    Trying to activate Windows 10. When I go to Settings>Update and Security> Activation
    I see the following.....
    "Activation Unable to reach Windows activation servers.

    It might take sometime to activate Windows after you connect to the internet.If you'r already connected, you can try manually activating now.
    Activate.

    When I hit activate, a circle of dots goes round and round and then stops, but nothing happens.

    I am ethernet connected to the Internet and can can connect to any web site using MS Edge.
    I have been connected for over 24 hrs.
    Please help.
    MCP, A+,Net+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,440
    There are various things to try as suggested in this Microsoft user's forum:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-86f25be1b86d
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    479
    I tried Winver, my version is 1511, I tried to update, but it said no updates available.
    MCP, A+,Net+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,440
    1511 is quite old. From around 2015. There were a few older laptop and tablet computers from around then that could not update to newer versions because of the CPU that they used were not compatible with newer versions of Win 10. They had/have earlier Atom processors that Intel manufactured. However that should not prevent activation. Have you tried contacting Microsoft as suggested?


    What is the make and model of your computer?
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,934
    Why are you trying to activate Windows 10?

    Did you reinstall it?
    "I have been wanting to grow my own food but I can not find any bacon seeds."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    479
    I tried a new install using a WIN 10 install disk that I had, I have now been able to update to win10 ver 21H1, but still cant activate. I have installed and activated many PCs with this disk before, the previous installs would activate in a few hours withot me having to put any activation codes in, but now it instals but does not activate, I think the DVD is what is called an enterprise edition.
    MCP, A+,Net+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,440
    One major difference between the editions is licensing. While Windows 10 Pro can come preinstalled or through an OEM, Windows 10 Enterprise requires the purchase of a volume-licensing agreement.
    https://www.lakesidesoftware.com/blo...-vs-enterprise

    You should install Win 10 pro (or home if you wish)
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •