Bad block on disk 3
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Bad block on disk 3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,032

    Bad block on disk 3

    I got the message 'Bad block on disk 3' so I saved all the data (2 TB) except for about 10 files. Then I intended to mark the bad block(s) and continue using the disk for unimportant things.

    HD Tune couldn't find a bad block, Chkdsk couldn't find a bad block and the file system had nothing wrong with it either.

    The 10 files I couldn't get had the error 'Can't read from source' so I'm sure the bad blocks exist but that must mean that Chkdsk and HD Tune are not reliable. Is there a really good surface tester out there?

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,385
    Go to the hard drive manufacturer's website and download their own proprietary hard drive diagnostic tool.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,032
    So you agree, the tools I mentioned are unreliable?

    I just realized I already had the WD Drive Utility, I have 3 WD disks attached. I opened the utility and it says 'Please attach a supported WD drive.' I bought the three disks three weeks ago. What now? I need a list of disks that the utility can see before I can use the utility. HD Tune didn't find a problem but at least it could see all the disks I have attached.

    This might sound harsh but if I was WD, I would fire the team that made a utility that can't see it's own brand of disk.
    Last edited by Reverend; October 22nd, 2021 at 01:06 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,483
    What is the model number of the drive in question?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,888
    How OLD is the WD Drive Utility that you have?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,385
    That is a typical boiler plate warning/statement. When you actually run the diagnostic program it should see the WD drives installed.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,032
    The drive is obsolete but new.

    Model is: WD Green WD2DEARX.

    Well bless my buns! The WD Drive Util just saw a disk it thinks is a My Book Pro. The util has four options, Diagnose, Raid Config, Settings and Drive Erase, all options disabled except Raid Config.

    But gentlemen (and I use the word loosely we don't have to get to the bottom of this, I just want to find bad blocks and mark them off limits. Are there any other disk testing utils?

    >When you actually run the diagnostic program it should see the WD drives installed.
    You can't run it, it doesn't see any disks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,888
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    How OLD is the WD Drive Utility that you have?
    Utility - Not the drive. Grab a new copy of their site just for grins.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,491
    It's pointless to merely mark the bad blocks. Once you start getting bad blocks, they're just going to increase. You need to replace the drive.

    If you just bought the drive, then see if you can exchange it. Otherwise, you could try for a warranty replacement.

    How is the drive connected? Internal SATA port? USB enclosure?

    Did you download the latest version of WD Drive Utilities?
    https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?DL

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •