[RESOLVED] 5 TB Toshiba external drive keeps coming and going
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] 5 TB Toshiba external drive keeps coming and going

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,034

    Resolved [RESOLVED] 5 TB Toshiba external drive keeps coming and going

    I have the drive attached and I'm working on something else when I suddenly get the 'Discovering Items' dialog. There was no two tone beep to indicate that it was disconnected, but clearly that must have happened. I've tried multiple data cables and at least two power supplies but the issue continues.

    Does this mean it's got a faulty controller?

    I'll bust it out of it's case and plug it into one of those external readers if that will fix the problem. What's bothering me is that it contains about 4 TB of critical backup data on it. It's perfectly silent so I don't think there's anything wrong with the platter/spindle, it just keeps dropping the ball.

    Toshiba P/N: HD350XK3J1WC
    S/N: 17MDK1PRFFYD

    No model number.

    What do you think?

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,495
    Either a power issue, or possibly a USB or controller issue. I would get the data off that drive and discontinue using it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,495
    Have you tried it on more than one computer? Does it do the same thing on each computer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,034
    It gets power from a wall outlet so it looks like the controller. Damn, a near new drive...

    What about a Macrium image? Would that grab the data faster than copying it? If the data is 4 TB, how much space would I need for an image?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493
    It doesn't make sense to use Macrium for regular data. It would take more time than just copying the data. You'd use Macrium if you were making a backup of your Windows partition.

    It could be a flaky USB port on the enclosure. You could try removing the drive from the enclosure and putting it into a new one. That would void the warranty, though.

    When you say "backup", is that the only place you have the data? A backup is a copy of the original data. If you only have the data in one place, you don't have a backup.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,034
    >It could be a flaky USB port on the enclosure
    I've got nothing to lose by busting it out of the enclosure, I don't care about the warranty.

    >A backup is a copy of the original data
    By that definition, I don't have a backup

    Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,034
    Ha! It wasn't the external disk that was flaky, it was the port on the computer!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •