[RESOLVED] Upgrading a CPU
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] Upgrading a CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    169

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Upgrading a CPU

    I would like to know if I could update my current CPU to an Intel Core i7-975 Extreme Edition 3.33 GHz LGA 1366
    This is the current CPU and Motherboard

    CPU Intel Core i7-920 Code name Bloomfield
    Max TDP 130.0w-Socket 1366LGA
    Technology 45nm Core voltage 0.928v
    specification Intel core i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
    Family 6 model A Stepping 5
    Ext.Family 6 Ext model 1A Revision 00
    Clocks (core#0 Cashe
    Core Speed 1598.77 MHz L1 Data 4x32KBytes 8way
    Multiplier x21.0 (12-22) L1 Inst. 4x32KBytes 4 way
    Bus speed 133.23 MHz Level 2 4x256 KBytes 8way
    QPI Link 2398.15 MHz Level 3 8MBytes 16 way

    Mainboard
    Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd
    Model Ex58-UD3R
    Bus Specs. PCI-Express 2.0 (5.0 GT/s)
    Chipset Intel x58 Rev 13
    Southbridge Intel82801JR (ICH10R) Rev 00
    LPCIO ITE IT8720

    I don't know if all this info is needed. But when I go to a chart that says what CPUs I can't make heads or tails out of it. If I'm wasting my time let me know also.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,418

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    169
    I thought I sent a reply, but I don't see it.

    That is the chart of CPUs that I saw. The confusion is do I only have a choice of i7-920 CPUs. Or do I have a choice of any of the CPUs listed. So, for example Could I select the Intel Core i7-975 Extreme Edition 3.33GHz LGA 1366?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,483
    You should be able to use any of the CPUs listed, provided that your BIOS version supports it. If you need to update the BIOS, you should do that before upgrading the CPU. Gigabyte's web site should have additional data on CPU support for your motherboard also, as well as BIOS update downloads if needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,483
    Links:

    https://www.gigabyte.com/Search?kw=E...R#Products-2-1

    Check your board to see what Rev. you have. You would need the Rev 1.6 or higher motherboard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    169
    Looks like I'm out of luck. (Rev.) 1.1. Thanks for all your help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •