Android contact back-up
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Android contact back-up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    452

    Android contact back-up

    What ho one and all,

    I want to back up the contacts data on my Android phone but uncertain the best way to do it. I do have Google Snyc set and it does appear that all contacts are backed up to my gmail account, but when I log-in to Gmail, I don't see anything that is obviously my phone.

    Transferring photos from the phone to the computer is a simple copy and paste; is it possible to do the same with contacts, and if so how?

    I have been through every folder on the phone and do not see anything relating to contacts.

    Thanks and toodle pip

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,860
    If the phone isn't an old antique flip phone like the last one you asked about - Android uses an app called Smart Switch which allows you to backup everything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,414

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    452
    Already been there and all I can see are a bunch of Contacts that were created when i was sending / receiving from G-Mail rather than OE.

    All the Contacts on the phone are not there, even though I thought I had backed up to my G-Mail account.

    Found an option to back-up to a vcf file but when I checked with the phone connected to the computer, there was only one entry.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,414

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    452
    Thank for the lin I have already found many similar links.

    There is however a fundamental Android problem; My own phone is a Galaxy J5 with Android 7.1.1. Under Settings, there is no Accounts listing and I don't know where to find it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,860
    Do you see an option called USERS and Accounts? If so - that's it.
    "I have been wanting to grow my own food but I can not find any bacon seeds."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    452
    Thanks for the replies but I don't believe I am any further forward.

    Everything implies that my phone (contacts) are backed up to my gmail account but when I go to Gmail on the web, I don't see anything relating to the phone contacts, just email contacts.

    So I have tried backing up to an internal vcf file. Plug the phone into the computer and yes, there is a vcf file but when I open it, there is only one contact shown, not the 173 that the phone back-up screen says it will copy. And what I don't understand, it is always the same contact and not even the first. It is not a contact that I would have highlighted.

    As all this information is held within the phone, is it possible to access the contact database and if so, how? I have clicked on every phone folder, the vast majority are empty and there is nothing relating to contacts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,462
    It depends if you saved your contacts to the SIM or your Google Account. If they are on your SIM, you'd need to import the contacts into the Google Account.

    https://www.helpforsmartphone.com/pu...sung-Galaxy-J5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    452
    Thank for the link. I have not tried it yet but will do so.

    However, a new issue has arisen with my wife's new Moto regarding the contacts.

    As her old phone (Nokia 6030) has no facility for syncing contact backups to anywhere, I manually copied each one for her. On the new phone, opened Contacts, New, entered the data and Save. She donw not have a lot so not too arduous.

    A few days later when checking, there is no contacts, they have all gone. Did it a gain, and a few days later, all gone. Have no idea where or if i did anything wrong, (but doubt it.)

    He old phone does have contacts saved to both phone and SIM, so inserted the new SIM with a frame, and copied from the old. Inserted into the new and the only contacts showing are the provider defaults (Customer Service, Bolt ons, Vioce amil on/off, etc) no personal contacts showing. Again, I don't know what else to do?

    Grateful for nay suggestions.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,860
    Where are you looking for the new contacts that you entered? Are you looking in the same Contact App or are you looking in the Phone Dial App?

    There are MANY Contact Apps available and a person can install many... But generally only one is marked as the one to be used.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,401

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •