Questions about System Restore
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Questions about System Restore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,011

    Questions about System Restore

    I used to create restore points just for the system but I've recently included my Work drive (about 200 gig)

    1) Does the restore data get placed on C:\ drive, am I inadvertently going to fill that drive?
    2) If I reserve say 800 gig for the Work drive, is the reserved space inaccessible by anything else?
    3) Does the restore data equal the space occupied by the disk I'm protecting, i.e. is it compressed?
    4) Are there any down sides?

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,011
    I've already discovered one downside since I added a disk to System Restore. Creating a restore point fails when uninstalling something with Revo. Now the restore is in an unknown state and I'll have to do it again in Windows to make sure I have a good one. Not including the Work drive in the System Restore and backing it up with a backup program is probably better.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,480
    1) Does the restore data get placed on C:\ drive, am I inadvertently going to fill that drive?
    You'd set a max amount disk space for System Restore. Older restore points will get deleted if you run out of space.
    https://www.groovypost.com/howto/red...-restore-uses/

    2) No, it's dynamic space.

    3) System Restore only saves things like Windows system files, registry, drivers, etc, not user data. It doesn't make sense to run system restore on a non-boot partition.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,011
    >It doesn't make sense to run system restore on a non-boot partition.
    Not only does it not make sense but it turned out to be a very bad idea. When Revo failed to create a restore point, I went back to System Restore, removed the non-boot disk and tried again. It failed.

    'The shadow copy provider has an error' so now I have to solve that before I can create a System Restore. Just when everything was peachy, I had to screw it up.

    So how do I go about fixing it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,480
    Is that the exact error message?

    You could try checking the services and running SFC:
    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...8-4dc95f8b3e0a

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,011
    >Is that the exact error message?
    Yes, the shadow copy provider has an error.

    Just fixed it! Here's what I did:

    * Set the MS shadow copy service to Auto delayed start (per a web tut)
    * Set the Volume shadow copy to Auto delayed start
    * Shut down, Started up, waited for the delayed start
    * Ran FSC (no integrity violations)
    * Tried System Restore again and it worked.

    Thanks for your help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •