New connection to network
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: New connection to network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223

    New connection to network

    Win7
    Wired network
    Homegroup now has 2 computers, both Win 7


    This happens ever time I set up a computer. I'm a masochist. Just set up a third computer with Win 7. Oddly enough the internet connected as soon as I put in the wire.

    Started getting on the LAN. The new computer "sees" the other 2. First it told me I can't join a homegroup, then it let me. Now it's asking for a password. I never use a password (Yes, I know). I don't remember how I got around it last time.
    Last edited by foxy; April 18th, 2021 at 08:01 PM.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,464
    Are you actually using Homegroups or not? If not, you can just ignore it.

    https://www.digitalcitizen.life/home...-how-it-works/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    It's so long since I set it up, and I didn't take notes.

    This computer calls it "home network" on the networking page, and it shows the new one on the network, even while the new one is stuck on the password screen. Is the home network the same as homegroup?

    But the article you cited says homegroup doesn't require passwords.
    Last edited by foxy; April 19th, 2021 at 12:06 AM.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,464
    Homegroups and home network are two different things.

    Is it asking for a homegroup password or a password to get into another computer on the network? If you are trying to get into another computer on the network, make sure "password protected sharing" is turned off.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...dows-7-and-xp/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    It's asking for a homegroup PW just to set it up, no sharing yet.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,464
    If you aren't using Homegroups already, you don't have to create a new one. You can just click Cancel at the "Join a Homegroup" screen. Homegroups are not required for sharing.

    The article I cited does say a password is required to join a homegroup. It is generated when the homegroup is created.
    https://www.digitalcitizen.life/home...-how-it-works/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    So my network must be a "home network." I found some videos on Youtube, will get back to you if I have questions. Thanks.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •