USB connection to Galaxy J5
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: USB connection to Galaxy J5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472

    USB connection to Galaxy J5

    Another Galaxy J5 issue!

    I cannot connect my J5 to the W7 computer with the supplied cable. I have installed the Samsung SideSwtich software and sometime it works. I have reinstalled it, and it even shows under the StartUp tab in msconfig.

    But usually, nothing; cannot transfer anything.

    The more annoying issue is that when I was using XP, I never had to install additional software and the phone connected to the computer with no issues.

    I don't know what to do next? Any advice gratefully received.

    Thanks and toodle pip

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,495
    Can you connect the phone to a different computer using the same cable?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,892
    Guessing you meant SMART Switch.... Have to ask-> Did you launch it on both devices?
    "I have been wanting to grow my own food but I can not find any bacon seeds."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472
    Yes, but it is not an easy process, unlike using XP. My mistake, it is called SideSync4.

    I have just managed to transfer another photo, and although somewhat easier than yesterday, still take around 3 minutes before everything swings into gear.

    I have two separate Samsung folders installed, one in each of Prog files and Prog files x86. One is SideSync1.exe and takes too long to load whatever, the other has USB drivers but there is no *.exe file. See the attachments.

    Attachment 15471

    Attachment 15472

    As far as i can see, there is a piece of software installed, but when I connected the J5 today, the installing new software message appears in the lower right of the screen, which when enlarged shows:

    Attachment 15473

    I takes a long time to install and then we are good to go. But annoyingly, this happens every time.

    As mentioned, never had to install anything with XP; it just worked!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493
    Instead of trying to install the Samsung drivers via Windows Update, try installing it manually.

    https://developer.samsung.com/mobile...sb-driver.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Largo, Fl.
    Posts
    21,892
    FYI - SMART Switch is the name of the File Transfer software that Samsung ships with their new phones.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472
    Thanks fro the link. I don't know where I found the version (1.5 that I currently have but am upgrading to the one in the link as that is 1.7.

    Which raises anther question; after 2 mins of installation, this is what I have!

    Attachment 15474

    Since I have apparently, saved the *.exe file, why would it take so long to install?

    Plus, the directions on the file link says "You need the driver only if you are developing on Windows and want to connect a Samsung Android device to your development environment over USB." I am not developing anything so presumably, my J5 should be Plug n Play without any additional software?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472
    Still installing!!!! After around 15 mins

    Attachment 15475

    Not even Photoshop CS6 takes this long.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472
    Plugged the J5 in with the USB again today to transfer a photo. This time, the computer 'sees' the phone and gives a message, 'Installing Software.' Did not manage to get a screenshot.

    Happened without much hoopla, still took a couple of mins, but since the software was installed yesterday, how come every-time I plug the phone in, software has to be 'installed' again. Perhaps it is just loading, but 2 mins to connect to a storage device?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493
    That is very odd. Once you install the drivers, it shouldn't prompt you again. Unless there is an option on the phone itself about installing drivers? Or maybe it's an issue with that Sidesync program?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    472
    May be something was not installed correctly. Plugged it in today and it fired up without installing the software again.

    Hope the issue has solved itself.

    Thanks for the input.

    Toodle pip

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •