[RESOLVED] No data in Excel spreadsheets
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [RESOLVED] No data in Excel spreadsheets

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,924

    Resolved [RESOLVED] No data in Excel spreadsheets

    I've tried the solutions found on the web and I thought I'd solved the problem but the data wasn't visible next time I opened the file.

    Does anyone know a certain, permanent solution?

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,231
    Post the links to the solutions you tried.

    Can you create a new, blank workbook, enter some data in a few cells, save the workbook, exit Excel, then double click on the saved workbook and get Excel to open that workbook with visible data?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,231
    What version of Windows is on the system where this problem is occurring?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,924
    JD: No, I can create, enter data, save, exit - but when I open the file the data is not visible.

    OS: Win 10 1903
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/off...el-opens-blank (shows exactly what I get)
    http://www.repairmsexcel.com/blog/re...blank-document

    I cleared all Ad-ins
    Ignore DDE? Yes
    Disable Hardware graphics? Yes

    I'm currently trying the Excel Repair Tool
    http://repairmsexcel.com/download-excel-repair.php

    The repair tool only shows you a preview of the repair and the preview was perfect but since I haven't paid for the tool, the problem remains.
    Last edited by Reverend; January 27th, 2021 at 06:19 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,231
    OK, try this:

    On the re-opened sheet, where the data is not visible, select a cell where you know you had some data, then press Control-C to copy the data (even though it does not look like there is any), then open Notepad (Start, Windows Accessories, Notepad), and press Control-V to paste. See if any data gets pasted. If it does, that will give us a clue as to what is happening.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,231
    As usual, that Microsoft document contains lots of good information that is useless to actually fix the problem.

    We had the same problem with Excel and Windows 10 on some of the computers where I work. Our issue was that Microsoft did not include some of the standard fonts often used in Excel in Windows 10. This may well be your problem as well.

    If it is, the scripts below may fix the issue:

    Code:
    @echo
    
    ::Powershell script for Arial font
    Powershell -command "Get-acl C:\Windows\fonts\arial.ttf | Set-Acl -path c:\windows\fonts\*.*"
    Powershell -command "Get-acl C:\Windows\fonts\arial.ttf | Set-Acl -path c:\windows\fonts"
    
    :: Take Ownership of the Font folder and internal files
    Attrib -r -s "c:\windows\fonts"
    takeown /f "C:\windows\fonts"
    icacls "C:\windows\fonts" /t /grant "authenticated users":(OI)(CI)F
    
    :: Stop and disable "Windows Font Cache Service" service
    :: FontCache
    sc stop "FontCache"
    sc config "FontCache" start=disabled
    sc query FontCache | findstr /I /C:"STOPPED" 
    if not %errorlevel%==0 (goto FontCache)
    
    
    :: Grant access rights to current user for "%WinDir%\ServiceProfiles\LocalService" folder and contents
    icacls "%WinDir%\ServiceProfiles\LocalService" /grant "%UserName%":F /C /T /Q
    
    
    :: Delete font cache
    del /A /F /Q "%WinDir%\ServiceProfiles\LocalService\AppData\Local\FontCache\*FontCache*"
    
    del /A /F /Q "%WinDir%\System32\FNTCACHE.DAT"
    
    
    :: Enable and start "Windows Font Cache Service" service
    sc config "FontCache" start=auto
    sc start "FontCache"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,924
    Thanks for the script, it ran successfully but made no difference.

    I got around the problem by downloading Apache OpenOffice, it's free. I use Open With > Apache for old files and I create new files using Apache.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,231
    Can you then save the files in OpenOffice as .xls or .xlsx files and then get them to open and display in Excel?

    Note: If you did not do so, you should run PowerShell As Admin for the command to work.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •