Sandboxie with Sticky Password (SPW) password manager
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sandboxie with Sticky Password (SPW) password manager

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,200

    Sandboxie with Sticky Password (SPW) password manager

    Win 7
    Sandboxie(SB)
    Firefox 52.9ESR and Waterfox 2020.08, which is identical except it has all updates but no telemetry
    Sticky Password (SPW)-runs in the systray and connects with the extension in the browser
    ---------------------------------------------

    Please don't reply unless you're familiar with Sandboxie. I've already posted this on the Sandboxie and Sticky Password forums, and this has been dragging on for months. I keep uninstalling Sandboxie because it keeps running even if you turn it off, and then a few months later I try again.

    I can't get SPW to run properly with Sandboxie. I've tried them both in the sandbox, and SPW outside the Sandbox. SPW is running, but not doing anything, and the extension disappears from the toolbar.

    Right now I'm in Firefox, because Waterfox gave me this message and the WF page is blank. I don't know what this means:

    ...........................................................
    "SBIE1308 Program cannot start due to restrictions - spNMHost.exe [DefaultBox]
    SBIE2222 To add the program to Start/Run Access Restrictions, please double-click on this message line
    SBIE2314 Canceling process spNMHost.exe
    SBIE1308 Program cannot start due to restrictions - plugin-container.exe [DefaultBox]
    SBIE2222 To add the program to Start/Run Access Restrictions, please double-click on this message line
    SBIE2314 Canceling process plugin-container.exe"
    -..............................

    SPNMHost is the engine for Chromium-based browsers, not for either of these browsers.

    If there a sandbox program or VPN that's easier to use, I'll chuck Sandboxie. I just need something that will protect my Win7, because I'm not downgrading to 10.
    Last edited by foxy; October 14th, 2020 at 06:10 PM.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    24,114
    Sandboxie was basically discontinued when Sophos antivirus dropped support for it. Here's a thread related to it that I started on our sister forum sysopt.com a couple of months ago.

    https://www.sysopt.com/showthread.ph...-Shade-Sandbox

    Sandboxie enters into the discussion a few posts in. Worth noting is that Sandboxie free only allows one application to run at one time so that itself may be an issue with your problem.

    Also note that there have been some connectivity issues with that forum for a little while so you may get an erroneous security message when you try to access it. Try again in ten minutes.


    More:


    https://www.securityweek.com/sophos-...ce#:~:text=The
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,878
    Possibly useful links for other sandbox systems to try:

    https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/windows-sandbox-tools/

    https://www.raymond.cc/blog/no-more-...sted-programs/

    https://www.geckoandfly.com/24921/sa...lback-windows/

    The other option is to set up a Virtual Machine that can be used for web browsing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,200
    Fink, I noticed none of them answered your question at sysopt. It drives me nuts when people do that.

    Thanks, guys, I'm going to try some on my 2nd machine first. Does either of you have experience with any of those besides Shade Sandbox?

    I've never used a Virtual Machine, but I will consider it. I need whatever is most effective and easiest, without massive amounts of instructions. And I do want to protect 2 browsers, both of which are on all day. I work mostly online, and I don't have time to keep fixing things.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,878
    Possibly useful links:

    Note: These are for setting up a VM under Windows 7. It might actually be easier up a Windows 7 VM under Windows 10. I know, Windows 10 is a pain, however, if you are not using it for anything more than running a Windows 7 VM, you might be able to live with it, especially if you disable updates. You are not getting updates for Windows 7 anyway.

    https://lifehacker.com/how-to-set-up...ree-1828969527

    https://petri.com/creating-a-virtual...c-on-windows-7

    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-crea...dows-7-4776440

    https://www.howtogeek.com/56158/begi...ng-virtual-pc/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,200
    Yes, I am getting 7 updates, but we can't discuss it here.

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •