Any Total AV Users ?
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Any Total AV Users ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812

    Any Total AV Users ?

    It's time to renew my antivirus program. This time I decided to try TotalAV. They seem to among the top 10, as shown on the web.
    However, I cannot get it to complete an installation on a PC running Windows 7. It seem to be ok on Windows 10 but as I try to install on Win7, it displays a small black window stating:
    "Completing setup..
    Waiting for internet connection"
    It just hangs there forever. I tried closing firewall protection, uninstalling & reinstalling, calling TotalAV, which offered very little help.So I'm hoping one of you guys may have answer. Thanks...........
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945
    It should install on Windows 7.

    Possibly useful link:

    https://www.safetydetectives.com/bes...irus/total-av/

    Does the Windows 7 install actually get as far as creating an icon or Start Menu entry? I assume that you are installing it from a user account with Administrator status. You could try right-clicking on the installation .exe and selecting Run As Admin.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    Yes, it does install and create a desktop icon. I've also tried running as admin. I get the same results. It also shows in my totalav account as one of the installs. I'm good for 10 installs...
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945
    If it creates an icon, does it actually run when you double-click on it? If not, what happens? There should at least be an error message of some kind.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    When I click on the icon I get what I said in my first post :"Completing setup..
    Waiting for internet connection" in just a small square window about 2x2"......
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    Hey jdc, in doing some snooping I found this situation. If I right click on the TotalAV icon, it lists various options, one of them being "trouble shooting compatibility " when I run this option, it states :

    [ Settings applied:
    Windows compatibility mode Windows XP (service pack2)]
    But when I do a system information run, I get this:[MS Windows 7 Home Premium 6.1.7601 service pack1 build7601]

    So it appears that TotalAV is seeing the OS as Win XP rather than Win 7. Could that be & if so why???
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945
    That may or may not have anything to do with the "Waiting for Internet connection" error. Even if it does, there may not be anything you can do about it, since there is probably no option during the install process to set the compatibility mode.

    I would try again to get some help from Total AV on this. You might get a better help the this time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    OK, thanks for replying anyway. I may just have to bite the bullet & use a freebee for that PC. It's a spare & I rarely fire it up ... Have a great day...........
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    Update: I just received a email from ToTal AV & they apparently had a server problem with one of their server providers affecting only Windows 7 & got it resolved. It is working ok now.............................
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945
    Nice.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Valley of Sun
    Posts
    1,812
    Thanks for the web sites. BTW, what anti-virus program is highly recommended by you guys? Not necessarily a free-bee and One that includes VPN.
    Where there's a will, there's a way

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,945
    I use Norton at home, although I don't use their VPN. I have a separate VPN application. Kaspersky is also highly rated.

    https://www.pcmag.com/picks/the-best...test_variant=a

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •