Strange but true, Open a text on one win and move to another?
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Strange but true, Open a text on one win and move to another?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213

    Strange but true, Open a text on one win and move to another?

    If I move it to my second monitor I lose almost all control. I have no borders, no X out, Nothing.....


    any fix? Any thoughts?

    Thanks and regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,950
    My first thought would be that the second monitor is set for Tablet Mode. However, I am not sure that you can actually do that on only one monitor. Check your display settings and report back.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213
    it was set up in tablet....but changing it didn't work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,680
    Which application are you using for text files?

    Notepad
    Notepad ++
    "They say "don't try this at home" so I'm coming over to your house to try it."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213
    Notepad

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,264
    In Settings, under "Tablet Mode", did you turn OFF "Make Windows more touch-friendly when using your device as a tablet"?

    What is your exact computer and monitor make/model? Why was it in Tablet Mode at all? It's hard to help you without more details.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213
    full desktop, this just started recently. The only change I have made recently was my vid card from a 1050 mini to a 1050 ti 4gb mini. It shouldn't be in tab mode period. "Make Windows more touch-friendly when using your device as a tablet" is not an option. I have these

    WHEN I SIGN IN:
    1: use tablet mode
    2: use desktop mode
    3: use the appropriate mode for my hardware

    Under that I have

    WHEN THIS DEVICE AUTOMATICALLY SWITCHES...

    1: Don't ask me and don't switch
    2: Always ask me before switching
    3: Don't ask me and always switch

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213
    Use desktop mode is obviously chosen and don't ask don't switch.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,264
    Is Notepad the only app that acts like that? So it's fine on one monitor, but changes to tablet mode on the other?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    213
    Yes it's the only one. Notepad ++ works fine on both monitors but the wife can't stand it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,264
    I still haven't found a way to open Notepad in Tablet mode by itself. How are you launching Notepad?

    What build of Win10 are you using?
    https://www.howtogeek.com/236195/how...s-10-you-have/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •