Asus RT-N56U router - Page 6
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 76 to 87 of 87

Thread: Asus RT-N56U router

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,140
    If all users are now getting decent connections (except for the drops), a mesh router system might be more than you need, although it would definitely be an improvement.

    AX50 links:

    https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-netw...r/archer-ax50/

    https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-WiFi-.../dp/B07YMFZ28Q

    https://www.newegg.com/netgear-arche...82E16833704495

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,342
    I mentioned mesh because you said you have a multi-floor house. Mesh is for coverage.

    You shouldn't be getting dropped connections, period. That's more a sign of a failing or overloaded router, which is why we are recommending you replace it.

  3. #78
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    An overloaded router would not necessarily mean that it is failing? Like I said when I first opened this thread, I have a brand new router of the same make/model of the one that I am using. At first, I thought the lost connections meant that the router was failing. I lost connections when I connected the new router, as well. I switched back to my old router and have been using it since.

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,342
    We don't know exactly why you are dropping connections, but it is a really old router model. We have already gone though various possible fixes. Overloaded doesn't mean failing, but it could mean that you need to upgrade.

    How many client devices are connected to the router? Are they using 2.4 or 5GHz? Is there a certain time of day that you get disconnected?

  5. #80
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    There can be 3-5 devices using the internet at the same time. There is no certain time of the day that the connection drops. I have lost it morning, afternoon, and at night. I have lost connection when I was only one using the internet via my laptop at night and the connection was lost. There is no specific pattern. I just lost connection twice in the past 30 minutes. My router is configured to use the 5GHz, but, the firestick on the tv downstairs connects at the 2.4GHz because it says it is a stronger signal. I know I need to upgrade to a better router. Would the TP-Link AX50 correct my issue or would another router be better?

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,342
    Upgrading to an AC or AX router should help. Both are meant to handle more clients.

    For the price, the AX50 is a good deal. It's not super expensive, and it's an AX router. AC is on the way out already, so you'd probably be better off investing in AX.

    If you prefer a different brand, you can see what AX routers they have now. Some of them can be pretty pricey though.

  7. #82
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    I ordered the the AX50. I will let you know the stability of my connection with the AX50. Midknyte and JDC2000, thanks for all the help. I really appreciate it.

  8. #83
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    Midknyte, thanks for recommending the TP-Link AX50. I am very pleased with it. I have been using it for the past few days. I tried to overload it and had multiple videos playing on my laptop at the same time everyone else in the house was using the same network. It hummed along great and never lost connection. I couldn't use the 5G network with my old router on my firestick because the signal strength was always listed as poor. Now, the 5G signal strength on firestick is listed as very good. Also, the video quality is a lot better too. Again, thanks so much for your help. JDC2000, thanks for help, as well. I'm always appreciative.

  9. #84
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    I forgot to ask in previous post. Should "hide SSID" be checked and "enable wireless radio" be left checked? Do I need to modify the settings in any way or is the default just fine?

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,342
    Glad to hear the new router is working well. Going to AX from an N router is a big jump.

    Leave "hide SSID" unchecked. It doesn't provide any extra security and it makes it more tedious to add devices to the WiFi network.

    "enable wireless radio" must be checked if you want the WiFi to work. If you don't enable the wireless radios, then it's basically a wired router.

    Other than that, you can just take the defaults.

  11. #86
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,678
    Ok, thanks.

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,140
    Latest ASUS from CES 2021:

    https://www.techrepublic.com/article...-new-products/

    No word on price yet.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •