[RESOLVED] Slow surfing
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: [RESOLVED] Slow surfing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Slow surfing

    Samsung Notebook NPRF511 Windows10 Home Premium 64bit,SP1,Intel core I5 CPU,8gb Ram,1 Terabyte HD, Sky broadband, windows firewall and security.
    My laptop is slow in websites, like you can't get to do anything till all the ads pop up, when scrolling down a page it's lagging also I can't use the Sky Super 6 website, when I try to log in or play, nothing happens .
    I had this through intensive care and it's clean, they said to come here with this, or should I be in another thread.
    I've also been blocked from entering another site which says it may be fake and trying to get my details or their certificate
    is out of date, this also happened with the same site on my wife's ipad. thank's

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,574
    Moving thread to Internet Related Issues, since this seems to be more of a browser problem.

    What browser are you using? Are you using an adblocker or not? You might need to clear your cache/cookies also.

    As for the "fake" site, it might just be a bad site if the ipad also has an error. Totally different OSes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133
    I'm using Internet Explorer and I haven't installed an adblocker as far as I know. The fake site thing is ok now, both laptop and Ipad are able to get into that web site now. How do I clear cache/cookies, I use Ccleaner does that do it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    17,639
    Also, what antivirus and/or antimalware software do you have installed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,574
    Are you sure you're using IE? Win10 uses Edge browser by default, not IE.

    CCleaner should be able to clear the cache and cookies, and it does support Edge.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133
    I've always used IE with win 10 ,I just stuck with what I was used to as I had problems with Edge at the start, but I can't remember now
    what the problem was.
    I use Windows firewall, and Defender, Ccleaner, Malwarebytes anti malware, Adaware, TFC, and I've used Sophos which was clean.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,441
    What is your Download and Upload speed on Sky broadband? You can check here: http://www.speedtest.net

    When the test is complete, click the little chain-link link next to "SHARE" near the top left, then copy the link in the "Forum" box and paste it into a response to this thread. The results will look like this:


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,574
    I wouldn't bother with Adaware.

    You shouldn't be using TFC on Win10 either.
    http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/files...r-by-oldtimer/
    Please note TFC is not suitable for use on Windows 8.1 or 10

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133

    Ok i'll delete both program's

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,574
    And that's with IE? What about with Edge?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,441

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133

    How do I find out what speed I should be getting.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,441

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    133
    Can't remember the speed of our package, will call Sky in morning but my wife ran speed test on the Ipad and got download 56.29 and 18.66
    upload speed
    Last edited by wolfdog; October 16th, 2019 at 05:38 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,574
    Your Sky plan package would be listed on your bill. From the iPad numbers, it seems like you have the Sky Broadband Superfast package (59down/18up average).

    What modem/router do you have? Have you restarted them? How is your laptop connected to the modem/router?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •