[RESOLVED] CD ROM DRIVE
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: [RESOLVED] CD ROM DRIVE

  1. #1
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684

    Resolved [RESOLVED] CD ROM DRIVE

    Hopefully I won't need help with replacing this drive. Instead I thought I would relay an experience that occurred tonight. I put a software ap CD in the drive and it shattered the CD as it was closing the door. I got 3 pieces of the CD out and I assume the rest of it is in the bottom of the tower. (There are no pieces in the tray.) I'll know tomorrow when I replace the drive but I suspect there may be more to it than just that. What may have caused that to happen may be anyone's guess. The door to the drive keeps opening and trying to close even as I type. Just relaying another of my "can't believe computing experiences". Of course, you may have ideas about this and if so, please reply. As usual, TIA.
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    The rest of the busted cd is in the drive and yes, it is replacement time for the cd/dvd burner.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,418

  4. #4
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684
    Thanks for confirming what I thought Train.

    And Doc thanks for the link to a new drive. Fortunately, I have one I can use if it is of the same type that is broken. In fact the burner I plan to use is a Sony AD-7200A DVD/CD rewritable. Do you see a problem using it?
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Should work just fine. Might not like your choice of burnable cd/dvds, so test to see if what you use is OK.

  6. #6
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684
    Well well well, I checked the Sony burner I was going to use but found it was built in 2009 and does not replace the newer burner that chewed up the Acronis Home 2010 CD that first caused my troubles. I took the 'damaged' burner out of my computer and shook it until I removed most, or all, of the broken pieces lodged in the burner and then re-installed the burner and it works!!! In time, I will test the other features to be sure the burner totally works. For now, I am marking this thread solved. Thanks to all for all of your support--again.
    PS. I do have a burned backup of the original Acronis CD---WHEW.
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Now you can truely say you have the shakes. LOL
    Thanks for the up date!

  8. #8
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684
    Yep, I'm all shook up but I did have success with my experiment. Can't remember how to make a copy of a CD and I need to make a copy of my install Acronis Home 2010 in case this should ever happen again.
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    What burning program are you using?

    Maybe of help.
    http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19411_10...ing-windows-7/

  10. #10
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684
    Would you believe I don't have one !!! Don't know what happened to my computer a few weeks ago but I know I had the cd burnerxp on this computer and then I didn't have it when I looked. I now have it thanks to your questioning.
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    To much disk cleanup maybe? Just a thought is all.

  12. #12
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,684
    Could be a good guess Train--could be. I have it covered now and I just burned the backup CD by using another CD I had burned for such purposes. All is well now.
    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Good news!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •