[RESOLVED] Word 2000 crazy behavior
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Word 2000 crazy behavior

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    311

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Word 2000 crazy behavior

    I'm runnng XP Pro, and I had a rapid series of power outages this week. My machine was improperly shut down several times. Everything else works fine, but my Word 2000
    is messed up. When I try to open a doc, I see the doc but the Save AS dialogue box
    opens simultaneously. When I try to save or cancel, it just reappears. No matter how many times I click, it won't go away. The only way to
    shut it down is to go to Task Manager and stop the program. I've done a repair install,
    which failed, and a full uninstall/reinstall, which also failed.
    Help! What's next?

    Thanks

    Art
    Art
    www.artsdigitalphoto.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling Word?

    Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; 2 others also Win 7 Ult
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    311
    Yes, I'm on my second attempt.

    Art
    Art
    www.artsdigitalphoto.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,580
    Try running "Repair" from the Word Help menu. If that doesn't fix it, find your Normal.dot file and delete it. Then restart Word and it will create a new one.
    Nick.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    311
    I resolved the issue, but I'm keeping your fix, SuperSparks, just in case. I had a feeling there was something crazy happening to the keyboard, so I switched, problem gone.
    Then I switched back. Problem gone. Hmmm.

    Thanks
    Art
    www.artsdigitalphoto.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,580
    Well that is a strange one! I'm glad you got it all sorted out anyway, thanks for posting back with the fix
    Nick.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    2,047
    Possibly unplugging and replugging the keyboards cleaned some dirty contacts.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •