constantly losing connection
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: constantly losing connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    constantly losing connection

    I am having problems with my internet connection. It seems to constantly disconnect and reboot itself. The lights use to cut off and then back on; however, now I lose connection and the lights stay on. I lose both wireless and ethernet connection when this happens. I have a Linksys wireless-g cable gateway (WCG200 v.2). I was going to just go buy a new cable modem but I thought maybe some one could help me.

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO-353D854A

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-C7-99-83



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-6F-86-68

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.11

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.116.2.50

    24.116.2.34

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 06, 2009 8:15:03 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:15:03 PM

    Please help me!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    4,765
    Unfortunately,
    If a defective/damaged gateway device is the source of the issue,
    There is no workaround.
    Replacement of defective/damage device is the only option.
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17
    How do i know if the device is damaged?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493
    You'll just have to swap it out since it's an all-in-one unit. I'm guessing that you already contacted your ISP and they verified that the lines are good.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17
    yeah i did that - do you recommend a specific cable modem router or are they all about the same

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,493
    You should inquire with your ISP before purchasing, but the Motorola SB5000 series are popular. You would need to get a separate wireless router, which is what I recommend anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for the help

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •