[RESOLVED] Floppy disks not detected
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: [RESOLVED] Floppy disks not detected

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Floppy disks not detected

    I built a new computer 2 months ago with not the greatest of mobos, but what I could afford, an XFX MG-63MI-7109. The floppy drive is detected in the BIOS and in My Computer, but floppies are not detected. The light is on constantly, but the cables are NOT reversed; they're keyed. I tried several other drives and 2 other cables. Should I just presume the controller is damaged or they did something wrong with the circuitry when assembling the mobo?

  2. #2
    photolady's Avatar
    photolady is offline Lifetime Friend of Site Staff
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,417
    Is the part of the cable that's split on the drive or on the controller? It should be on the drive.
    Is the drive new or one you had previously? If previously, it could be a bad drive.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos here And here: PPG

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    The split part is near the drive. I've already tried 3 of my floppy drives, and 2 were working in my 2 old computers until I set up the new one. I've also tried 2 new cables.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Make sure the Floppy is enabled in the BIOS.

    Maybe set to NONE. Probably in Standard CMOS Features where mine was.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    I already said it was enabled in the BIOS. It also has IRQ 6, which is standard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Is the floppy on all the time? If it is, remove the ribbon, flip it 180 degrees and reinsert it.

    Yes the floppy ribbon can be plugged in either correctly or 180 degrees out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    Can't do that. The ribbon is keyed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ft Myers FL
    Posts
    8,518
    Interesting...what does the mobo manual suggest in the troubleshooting section?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    2,047
    Go to Device Manager, click the + sign on Floppy Disk Controller, right click on the controller and select Properties--there is a Troubleshooter there--maybe it will help. Another thing to try is remove the controller and reboot and the controller will be re-installed (in case it's scrambled).
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    dnielsen--The Device Mger says the drive is working. I've also tried an uninstall and reinstall.

    lgbpop--I generally go to VirtualDr after an exhaustive web search. There's no troubleshooter in the mobo manual, but I've already Googled a number of forums and the MS website. the general conclusion is that there's a problem in the controller. We all know from experience that the Device Mger often lies.

    I'm not returning the mobo, as the computer is already set up. I'll just buy a USB floppy, as I have plenty USB ports.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,223
    Please mark "resolved."

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Keizer,Orygun USofA
    Posts
    10,636
    You can mark it resolved yourself,but it would be helpful to others to tell us how it was fixed...
    Stupid question? No such thing!
    Virtual Dr. to the rescue!
    Just ask. Bookmark your post for easy reference.
    ==================================

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,399
    Above your first post is Thread tools, that is where you mark it resolved.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    2,047
    Ridgerunr---read post #10.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •