Vundo Vista Infection - Please Help! - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 41 of 41

Thread: Vundo Vista Infection - Please Help!

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    21
    i changed the settings to match what you had posted in that picture, but it was cut off so I am not sure if it all matches. nothing has changed.
    I will be back in about 2 hours!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500
    OK. Let me know, when you're back. I'll keep digging.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500
    As for icons...

    Launch an elevated CMD window, ie Right click, Run as Administrator...
    Shutdown Explorer Process from the Task Manager
    In the CMD window go to C:\Users\<ProfileName>\AppData\Local
    Do the following command: attrib -H IconCache.db
    Do the following command: del IconCache.db
    Do the following command: start explorer

    Restart computer.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    21
    I went to the website regarding the desktop background and I did not come across anything that I had not tried yet.
    For the icons, I did it once through c:\users\jenna\appdata\... and not through c:\users\administrator\appdata\... is this correct? also, I did it without closing explorer by accident the first time, when I went to re-do this process again, of course it did not work since I had already deleted the file *.db...
    Where should I go from here???

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500
    Restart computer.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    21
    I restarted, and icons are still not back.
    background on desktop is still the same as well.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500
    We don't have too many options left.
    Since hidden admin account displays same problems, we can safely assume, that the infection did some damage to system files.
    BTW, it's a good idea to hide that account back, so nobody plays with it (follow instructions from very same link).
    Now...$100 quesstion. Do you have Vista DVD?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    21
    nope, no vista dvd
    come with my comp

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    21
    would reformatting and re-installing vista be my best bet?

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    22,500
    I tried to avoid it, but it seems like the only option left.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •