Deceptive, Misleading, Delusive, Fallacious ... software
Sources, "Anti-Spyware" products that actually install software widely viewed as spyware:- Mail Wiper's Spy Wiper and Seismic
- Trek8's Spyware Nuker
- Enigma Software Group's SpyHunter
- Spyban / Look2Me (defunct)
Other programs that present the potential for serious system performance degradation, invasion of privacy and system crashes include, but are not limited to, the following:- Alexa
- Any BuySmarter Product
- BDE/Brilliant Digital
- BargainBuddy
- ClientMan
- ComputerShield
- CoolWebSearch (Some variants use HOSTS file to block access to anti-Adware/Spyware sites)
- Cydoor
- DownloadWare
- Grokster
- HackerSmacker
- IGetNet
- IMesh
- InternetAntispy
- KazaaPlatinum
- Kazanon
- Lop
- MP3U
- MediaUpdate
- nCase
- Newnet
- PC ToolWorks 2003
- Popupguard
- RapidBlaster
- S Scanner
- SaveNow
- SpyDeleter
- SpyHunter
- SpyKiller Pro
- SpyWiper (MailWiper, Inc)
- VirusGuard
- Vloading
- webHancer
- Windows Antivirus 2004
- Xupiter Toolbar
- More: http://www.spywareguide.com/spywarelist.html http://www.allentech.net/parasite/FavoriteMan.html
To educate yourself about spyware and adware, the methods of how it finds it's way onto your computer, and helpful suggestions on removing it, set aside a few minutes and read this detailed page: http://www.womelsdorf.com/TIPS/adspyware.html
Anyone wishing to file a formal complaint may do so at https://rn.ftc.gov/pls/dod/wsolcq$.s..._ORG_CODE=PU01
Installed on my computer:
Spybot, Avast and Adaware. Are any of those deceptive?
Re: PC tools 2003 on list
Quote:
Originally posted by jleekc
I bought a copy of PC TOOLS 2003 Professional Version for about $10 on the Internet. The package looks like it is from a company CD Micro. I have not installed it because I was waiting for my Norton license to expire. Is this the same program you listed? Did I waste my $10 and is it going to screw up my computer? Thanks.
I tried to find information on "PC Tools," which led me to www.pc-tools.net - is this the same organization? Then searching for CD Micro brought me to this page - http://www.bizjournals.com/sanjose/s...ml?jst=s_rs_hl
It doesn't look like the same people, at least not when I skim it. If you have any other information from your order, I'd be glad to help you find info on the company :)