-
I took the chance and clicked on the link you guys are talking about, and it took me to an interactive full page ad of sorts. Here's the direct link to that page if you're curious: http://www.windows.com/Passion/main.html (if you hover over the link there's no doubleclick in the address)
After I was done snooping around I ran SpyBot S&D, Adaware SE, and XoftSpy and the results were clean. No doubleclick tracking cookie had been deposited on my machine. It should be safe for you guys to view that page. I use IE6 with Windows Home btw.
Søul
-
It's a genuine Microsoft site.
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/h.../defaultm.mspx
Same site like all their recent tv commercials about getting more.
-
Thanks Soul and Steve for the direct link.
FWIW.....from a cookie standpoint, windows.com placed 4 current session only cookies, and
207.net tried to place 6 cookies, all with a 2010 expiration date, which my cookie pal refused......... now I can peruse the page.
poppy
-
Yes, I block the tracing cookie. But also be aware that their ad-site affiliations may rotate. That is, not everytime you access the page, will you be accessing the ad.doubleclick code.
-
understood....Thanks JPnyc.....poppy