Friend of mine had this try to access the internet. All searches I have done come up german sites. Any idea what it is? Thanks
Wasn't sure which forum to put this in.
Printable View
Friend of mine had this try to access the internet. All searches I have done come up german sites. Any idea what it is? Thanks
Wasn't sure which forum to put this in.
well, I would just remove it, maybe back it up so it can be replaced if necessary
if you can't find any information saying it is legit or not; I would assume it is not legit.
So, just remove it. And if you back it up, you would be able to replace it if it actually is needed.
I would recommend posting a Hijackthis log in the appropriate forum if you havent done so already.
It's part of a program by Whole Security, which was recently acquired by Sysmantec (I think the thread I found was supposed to mean "Symantec.") and is activated when the program encounters malware; it then phones home to see if the file is in Whole Security's malware database. Original link here. Symantec's site may explain it further.
oh, heh, gets it pays off to read german... or maybe you just had google translate it or something
It's Portuguese, and I read it well enough to get by. The translator sucks, BTW. Obrigado means "thank you," but it translates as "debtor." https://discussions.virtualdr.com/im...2006/09/31.gifQuote:
Originally Posted by Byan
Yep, i get that loosely from a Google translation:
Quote:
ja to descubrir, is of the WholeSecurity company who was acquired by the Sysamntec recently, this archive is installed when a verification of virus in comp is asked for. atraves of the site of the Symantec
Liam
Thank you for the info I will pass it along.
seems symantec bought the antiphising software company a while back
see this link.
http://software.silicon.com/security...9152640,00.htm
mem