I just came across this site while surfing. While it sports the MVP logo it still looks a little 'hinkey'. Are any of you guys familiar with the site or the newsletter?
Printable View
I just came across this site while surfing. While it sports the MVP logo it still looks a little 'hinkey'. Are any of you guys familiar with the site or the newsletter?
Yep. I've heard of site and the newsletter. My association with the site is how I got in the program.
Jones, Steve R: Windows - Shell/User MVP WindowsBBS Forum moderator for: Internet Explorer/Outlook Express, Other Software and General Discussions
Hi Calpitor I am sure you know :-
Windows-Help.NET is a division of InfiniSource, Inc. Of which Mr Jones is a distinguished poster.
The site is lame to me anyway , however this is a matter of opinion. The MVP thing well that is MS rewarding you, and if you think that is fine then Mc Donalds also rewards big burger eaters with obesity. I work in IT seriously and you and I both know that it won't get you a job in the real world. I have no problem with people who have been given MVP's. Just aware that in the end the motivation is purely commercial. IE to benefit M$.
LOL that's funny Jen. I've always liked your special view on things. Made me think of that family that sued Rotten Ronnie's for making their family fat. :DQuote:
Originally posted by jenae
Hi Calpitor I am sure you know :-
The MVP thing well that is MS rewarding you, and if you think that is fine then Mc Donalds also rewards big burger eaters with obesity.
Calpitor--No question that MVP's are not necessarily the most knowledgeable people in the world about PC hardware or software, but in a nutshell they are people who have been noticed by Microsoft as helping others use MS products. And that means the help can usually be relied on.
It also provides a source of information about MS products in addition to MS Tech Support.
Welshjim I'm aware of what it means to have received an MVP assignation and I was in no way trying to degrade what these people have earned. The page I linked to, the Windows-Help.NET Newsletter, came up as a rather amatuerish looking Pop-Up something I usually associate with more than speculative motives (Spammers, Scammers, and Shammers) on the part of the author of the site. This might be why page didn't strike me as being particularly professional and more than a little dodgey. As I'm not an MVP I thought I would pass the link along to someone who is and they could in turn have it dealt with.
As it turns out "Windows-Help.NET is a division of InfiniSource, Inc." (thanks jenae) and Steve R Jones is associated with the site which would tend to give it more credibility.
Calpitor--I suspect this Infinisource affiliate site is the one that really got the MVP award.
http://www.windowsbbs.com/
Perhaps a little less commercial?? And more useful?