Installing multiple OS (NT 4.0 & 95)

Thread: Installing multiple OS (NT 4.0 & 95)

Installing multiple OS (NT 4.0 & 95)

I'm new to the world of NT and I am planning on installing NT so I can learn how to use it while keeping 95 running as my primary OS. Ths may sound strange but before I get a job I would like to know how to drive NT (looking for work in IT). What is the best way to install both OS on the one machine so that it boots into 95 unless prompted to go to NT?? Also any tips on NT would also be appreciated

Make sure your c: is fat16 (not fat32). install NT. Personally I prefer to keep it on a seperate hard drive or partition, that way you can use NTFS for NT and still run DOS/win95. If you are going to work with NT professionally, you should be familiar with the security features of NTFS.
    Once NT is installed, go to control panel-system. select teh startup/shutdown tab and you can select the default OS and amount of time before it is automatically selected.

The main trick to doing a dual boot is to install 95 first. If you install NT first, 95 will mess up your boot.ini, and then you will have to do a repair on it. If 95 is already loaded, then just do a standard install of NT, and make sure to put it in a different directory (defaults should work fine).