Beware on Spybot S&D updates (I think)
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Beware on Spybot S&D updates (I think)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Happiness: In the State of *Mind* Kansas
    Posts
    1,584

    Exclamation Beware on Spybot S&D updates (I think)

    When I tried to see if any updates are available today for Spybot: I get this warning from Kaspersky that I'm being redirected to: old.ccrdude.net.

    There are several warnings on the safer networking forums, and other sites when I googled that.

    Maybe dangerous, maybe not?

    Until someone determines what exactly this is, I would be careful.

    Personally, I chose to block that site.

    Any opinions from the resident experts much appreciated!

    Steve_83

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,743
    From here:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r188...date-Spybot-SD

    appears to be shared hosting/mirroring:

    "Results returned from whois.schlund.info:

    domain: ccrdude.net
    created: 15-Feb-2007
    last-changed: 29-May-2007
    registration-expiration: 15-Feb-2008

    nserver: ns55.1und1.de
    nserver: ns56.1und1.de

    status: CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED

    registrant-firstname: Patrick Michael
    registrant-lastname: Kolla
    registrant-organization: Safer Networking Limited Inh: Patrick Michael Kolla
    registrant-street1: Mill Road, Watson & Johnson Centre
    registrant-pcode: 0000
    registrant-state: CW
    registrant-city: Greystones, County Wicklow
    registrant-ccode: IE
    registrant-phone: +353.12870707
    registrant-fax: +353.12870707
    registrant-email: [email protected]

    admin-c-firstname: Patrick Michael
    admin-c-lastname: Kolla "

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Happiness: In the State of *Mind* Kansas
    Posts
    1,584
    CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED
    I recognize the safer networking portion.

    Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?

    Thanks for the reply, btw.

    Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps.

    Steve_83

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    683
    Maybe that's a backup server of some sort? The name on the registrant info is the name of the main person behind Spybot. I updated and ran a scan with Spybot earlier today though, the only sites that my firewall reported that Spybot connected to were safer-networking.org and spybotupdates.com.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Happiness: In the State of *Mind* Kansas
    Posts
    1,584

    [Resolved]

    Thanks Syzich

    I guess I won't sweat it next time, if that even happens.

    I had just updated my Kaspersky Labs protection to version 7.0.0.125 so I figured I'd start getting a few of these warnings: I can't tell what 1/2 of them are without asking.

    If someone walked up to you on the street and and said: "Schovst You Jack!"
    What would your reaction be?


    Steve_83

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,743
    Quote Originally Posted by steve_83
    I recognize the safer networking portion.

    Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?

    Thanks for the reply, btw.

    Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps.

    Steve_83
    No worries, sorry I wasn't able to get back on this sooner, sleepy time here in Australia!

    The Client Transfer Prohibited is just an administrative status for the Domain Name:

    "Transfer Prohibited: The domain name is restricted from being transferred to another registrar."

    http://www.pir.org/Search/WhoisHelp.aspx

    It looks to me like it is an alternative server, so I expect it should be safe.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •