Windows WONT install - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 47

Thread: Windows WONT install

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    Disk did not work. Here is what I have done.

    ASUS K7M
    15g Western Digital Hard Drive
    52x CD-Rom
    AMD Athlon 800
    64 Ram

    In addition to "fdisk /mbr" I removed the cmos battery. Put it back in and loaded original values in BIOS.

    Using windows98se startup disk which I made from my machine (it has worked before). Got a disk I/O error when trying to read disk. Eventually had to replace diskette drive.

    Booted up machine with startup disk...starting computer with cd-rom support.

    fdisk...enabling large disk support
    delete partition...delete primary partition
    created dos partition...created primary dos partition (using maximum available size and making it active.

    restarted computer with cd-rom support
    d:\format c: /s (takes about 5 to 8 sec. before asking to proceed)
    when done...says system transferred. directory of c:\ now has one visible file...command com

    Then I copy cd-rom contents to c:\ by doing this...
    c:\md win98
    c:\cd win98
    c:\win98\copy e:\win98\*.*
    when this is done
    c:\win98\setup
    "setup is now going to perform a routine check...press enter to continue"

    I have notice that the directory structure is scanned much quicker than the others listed.

    Then I either get a blank screen with a flashing cursor in the upper left corner or the error.."standard mode: fault in ms-dos extender"

    What gives? I did do a scanreg from dos and it told me that himem is not loaded. It is on the disk. How do I fix this? Detailed instructions please.

    Thanks again.
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,462
    Try the following:

    Copy the HIMEM.SYS file to the root directory on the C: drive.

    Add the following line to your C:\CONFIG.SYS file:

    DEVICE=HIMEM.SYS

    Then, re-boot (HIMEM.SYS should load) and try C:\WIn98\Setup again.

    Let us know if this works.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    How do I do that? c:\ does not have a config.sys that I see. The only time I have seen config.sys is after windows is installed.



    [This message has been edited by medic (edited 12-08-2001).]
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,836
    Take a look at the following MS KB article:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;Q87239


    ------------------
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,462
    You may have to use Notepad (on another PC) to create a CONFIG.SYS file on a BLANK diskette, then copy that file to your C: drive, since EDIT is not yet installed on the C: drive.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    Been to that link already. It does not tell you how to fix it.

    The startup disk I am using had a config.sys file and it had that line in it.

    The RAMDrive...d: is showing a himem.sys file. or vice versa

    And to be quite honest with you, jdc2000, I am not sure how to do what you are suggesting. I am ready to give up.


    [This message has been edited by medic (edited 12-08-2001).]
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,424
    Just a geuss! Uses a CD-ROM Windows start-up floopy disk. Is this a full instalation or upgrade?

    ------------------
    Tinkertron
    kendee@hotmail.com
    FLASHfunzone.com
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.0)
    AMD Phenom II x4 850 3.3 Gzh True Quad Core 2.0 Cache
    Thermaltake TR2-R1 CPU Cooler
    Patriot Viper Series DDR2 PC8500 1066Mzh
    Western Digital Caviar SE SATA 300
    Western Digital Green SATA 6 Gb 1TB
    Samsung DVD Writer SH-S203 (SATA)
    CoolMax CU Modular Power Supply 700W
    EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX550 Ti
    Windows 7 Professional 64bit

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,836
    If you look on your boot disk (A: drive) do you see a file called config.sys? If not email me and I can send you a copy of that file with the necessary information it needs along with a copy of himem.sys file.

    If you do have the config.sys file on your boot floppy add these lines to it and make them the first (top) lines in the config.sys file.

    DEVICE=HIMEM.SYS /testmem ff
    FILES=30
    BUFFERS=20

    Then copy the himem.sys file to your boot floppy disk as well if it is not already on your boot disk.

    Finally, boot from floppy and run setup from the hard drive from the win98 folder you created and let us know what happens.



    ------------------
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    Will take another look. Yes, it is a full installation disk.
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Sitting at my computer. Most of the time, anyway.
    Posts
    276
    I think Paisan meant:
    DEVICE=HIMEM.SYS /testmem ff
    FILES=30
    BUFFERS=20

    You should probably find a full boot disk online, then boot with it and copy the files to the C drive.

    ------------------
    Imagine. I named myself after an outdated programming language.

    My psychology: If your computer is faster than mine (PII 400 Mhz, 64MB RAM), you have ABSOLUTELY no right to complain.
    Ubuntu 8.04
    AMD Athlon 2500+
    Abit NF7-S mobo
    WD 320GB HDD
    1.5GB DDR SDRAM
    Samsung DVD-RW drive.
    Dark Blue X-Dreamer II case.

    LOGO Writer, my first programming language. See logofoundation.org for explanation.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,836
    logo: You are correct. Didnt realize I was putting a smilie there

    That time I did though!

    ------------------
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    Paisan,

    "If you start over first thing to do is fdisk, and then at the a:\ prompt
    type format c: /u

    I have attached the himem.sys file, and the emm386.exe file. First rename
    (dont delete) the existing himem.sys and emm386.exe files) then copy these
    to your boot floppy.

    After format is complete boot with your boot disk."

    I done the fdisk again, deleting and creating partitions. Done "format c: /u".

    While this was being done. I made another bootup disk on my machine. Renamed the himem.sys to himem.sy_ . emm386.exe did not exist. I then copied both of those files to the bootup disk and took it the computer I am having problems with.

    After "format c: u" was done I put in the new bootup disk (with the new files) and done a "format c:/s". Rebooted again and tried to install windows. NO LUCK!

    Got a "standard mode: fault outside of ms-dos extender"

    I am using windows 98 se.

    [This message has been edited by medic (edited 12-08-2001).]
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,462
    Below is the data from Microsoft's site regarding the error you got:

    Windows Err Msg: Fault in MS-DOS Extender (Q87239)

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The information in this article applies to:


    Microsoft Windows versions 3.1 , 3.11
    Microsoft Windows for Workgroups versions 3.1 , 3.11
    Microsoft Windows 95
    Microsoft Windows 98


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    SUMMARY
    This article discusses the following two error messages with stack dump:


    Bad Fault in MS-DOS Extender
    -and-
    Standard Mode: Fault outside of MS-DOS Extender


    Raw fault frame:
    EC=0344 CS=031F IP=85E2 AX=001D BX=0005 CX=1800 DX=155F
    SI=0178 DI=0178 BP=016E DS=027F ES=027F SS=027F SP=0166

    MORE INFORMATION

    Bad Fault in MS-DOS Extender
    This error message occurs when the fault handler dispatcher in DOSX.EXE generates another cascaded fault while trying to handle a protected-mode exception. This error is usually caused by one of the following factors:

    HIMEM.SYS is unable to control the A20 line.


    DOS=HIGH is not functioning properly (related to HIMEM.SYS control).


    The RAM, static RAM (SRAM), single in-line memory module (SIMM), or dynamic RAM (DRAM) chips are not functioning properly.


    You are running DR DOS.


    The third-party memory manager is not configured correctly.


    The EMM386.EXE NOEMS x=A000-EFFF line is missing from the Config.sys file.


    You have an old, out-of-date ROM BIOS.


    Your CMOS settings are incorrect.


    Your Windows files are old or corrupted. To test this, create a new directory on the hard drive, and install Windows in that directory.


    Your disks are corrupted.


    Your system is infected with the Form, Forms, Noint, or Yankee Doodle virus.


    Standard Mode Fault Outside MS-DOS Extender
    This error message occurs when the Kernel generates a processor exception during initialization (before it has installed its own exception handlers) or when the Kernel determines that it cannot handle an exception. The causes are the same as those for the "Fault in MS-DOS Extender" error.

    Meaning of Stack Dump and Raw Fault Frame
    The portion of the display labeled "Stack Dump:" should always be the same and does not carry much valuable information.

    The portion of the display labeled "Raw Fault Frame"

    EC=0344 CS=031F IP=85E2 AX=001D BX=0005 CX=1800 DX=155F
    SI=0178 DI=0178 BP=016E DS=027F ES=027F SS=027F SP=0166

    contains information generated by the 80286 or 80386 processor in response to the original fault. The meaning of these settings is as follows:

    Setting Meaning
    ------- -------
    EC=xxxx An exception code produced by the processor in response
    to the original fault.

    IP=xxxx The program counter of the faulting instruction (8086
    register "IP").

    CS=xxxx The code segment of the faulting instruction. If this is
    "0053" or "005B", the (original) fault was in DOSX.EXE,
    the "MS-DOS Extender."

    FL=xxxx The flag's image at the time of the original fault.

    SP=xxxx The stack pointer at the time of the original fault.

    SS=xxxx The stack segment at the time of the original fault. If
    this is "004B", the fault occurred on a stack belonging
    to DOSX.EXE.


    The CS and IP sections tell at what point in the faulting program that the original problem was detected.

    For more information about A20 handlers, see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

    ARTICLE-ID: Q72302
    TITLE : Specifying A20 Handlers with HIMEM.SYS /M in MS-DOS


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Published Oct 7 1992 12:00AM Issue Type kbprb
    Last Modifed Dec 18 2000 11:38AM Additional Query Words 3.10 win95 win95x
    Keywords kbdisplay kberrmsg

  14. #29
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,836
    Ok lets back up a step.

    Lets fdisk the drive as before.

    Then at the a: prompt type format c: /u

    When format is done, assuming you can access your Win98 cd, make a directory called Win98 and copy the Win98 directory from the CD to your hard drive into c:\win98

    Then run setup from the c:\win98 directory.

    If this fails try the following:

    "Standard Mode Messages:
    If you get any of the following error messages, remove any memory
    managers (such as EMM386.exe, QEMM, or 386Max) from your Config.sys
    file, and then run Setup again.

    Standard Mode: Invalid DPMI return.
    Standard Mode: Fault in MS-DOS Extender.
    Standard Mode: Bad Fault in MS-DOS Extender.
    Standard Mode: Unknown stack in fault dispatcher.
    Standard Mode: Stack Overflow.

    NOTE: If you still have problems, add EMM386.EXE back into your Config.sys file and exclude all ranges. For example: device=c:\windows\emm386.exe x=A000-FFFF

    If you encounter these messages or if your computer stops responding during Setup, turn on double-buffering in SmartDrive.
    Several SCSI hard drives and some ESDI drives require double-buffering.

    To turn on double buffering, add the following line to the beginning of your Config.sys file:
    device=c:\windows\smartdrv.exe /double_buffer+

    where "c:\windows" is the path to your Windows directory.


    Also it would help if you could post the contents of the config.sys file here so we can see if it needs anything.

    Let us know where you are at



    ------------------
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.
    Micro$oft Works - I Finally Understand the Definition of an Oxymoron.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, Va USA
    Posts
    437
    Are you talking about the contents of config.sys on a: (starup disk), d: (ramdrive) or e: (cdrom with win98)?


    [This message has been edited by medic (edited 12-08-2001).]
    HP Pavilion a1710n
    AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400 (2.2ghz)
    320g Hard Drive
    1g DDR Memory
    DVD with LightScribe
    9 in 1 Media Card Reader
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (Onboard Video)
    RealTek Onboard Sound (5.1)
    Windows Vista Home Premium

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •