SAntivirus
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 52

Thread: SAntivirus

  1. #1
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586

    SAntivirus

    I am not sure if I have this in the correct section. I was watching a youtube video with firefox browser and halfway through the video it froze and it took me to another page. There was an option to reload. When I clicked it, nothing happen. Then I tried to open another browser tab and it seemed like my laptop was freezing up. I tried to open my AV program and it won't completely open. I rebooted and everything seems fine. After rebooting, I ran my Avast AV and it didn't detect any issues. Then, I ran my malwarebytes program and it found 121 entried all called "PUP.Optional.Segurazo." Under the type column, they all say "potentially unwanted program." In the objective type column, some say "register key", "file", "process", "process module", or "folder." And there is a location column for each of these 121 entries. Then I noticed that I have a folder called SAntivirus. Somehow it appears that some anti-virus program was installed on my laptop that I didn't install. What could have occurred? What is the best way to remove the 121 entries in malwarebytes that I just described? I opened my Revo Uninstaller and looked for this SAntivirus program. There is a listing called SAntivirus Realtime Protection Lite by Digital Com Inc. I suppose I can just uninstall this unwanted AV using Revo?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    11
    I read up on it and you need to get rid of it. I use Revo for everything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    You definitely need to uninstall Segurazo. Either Revo or Geek Uninstaller should do the trick.

    https://howtoremove.guide/uninstall-segurazo-antivirus/
    https://www.myantispyware.com/2019/0...removal-guide/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    BTW, what version of FF are you running? Are you using an adblocker or not?

  5. #5
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586
    I apologize I couldn't reply back sooner last night. I fell asleep.

    Thanks deege.

    Hi, Midknyte. I didn't want to open firefox back up until I remove this program. I checked in my settings and it says I am running version 73.0.1. I am using UBlock Origin. I just ran malwarebytes again before I attempted to uninstall SAntivirus using Revo and it now found 10252 items. I just uninstalled the program with Revo and rebooted and re-ran Malwarebytes and it now found 10217 items and the SAntivirus is still listed in programs. Should I try uninstalling/removing it using Malwarebytes? If so, how?

  6. #6
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586
    I just checked Revo and I don't see the SAntivirus program/entry listing in it anymore. When I click on the start button and scroll through the list of programs, I still see the SAntivirus folder and inside it says SAntivirus product.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    11
    SUMMARY:
    Name SAntivirus
    Type Trojan
    Danger Level High (Trojans are often used as a backdoor for Ransomware)
    Symptoms It is hard to notice any visible symptoms of the Trojan horse infection because these threats normally don’t show any.
    Distribution Method Hackers often use spam email messages and malicious attachments to infect web users with Trojans.
    Detection Tool
    SAntivirus may reinstall itself multiple times if you don't delete its core files. We recommend downloading SpyHunter to scan for malicious programs. This may save you hours and cut down your time to about 15 minutes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    Revo should have removed the folder/files, assuming you chose that option. You can try removing them manually.

    I used Geek Uninstaller when I had to remove it from a friend's computer.
    https://geekuninstaller.com/download

    If you are still having problems after all that, you can create a new thread in the ICU.
    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...ted-3-21-2015)

  9. #9
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586
    Midknyte, I installed geek uninstaller and I don't see any SAntivirus entry in that program like I didn't in Revo after I attempted to uninstall it the first time using Revo. In the second link you posted earlier, it gives steps to remove it using Malwarebytes by clicking "quarantine selected" after performing a scan. Should I try that next?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    If you already removed it with Revo, then it probably wouldn't show up in Geek now.

    So you didn't remove files with MBAM? I thought you already did that. You'd definitely want to try that first.

    If you're going to do the ICU steps, then you should create a new thread and paste the logs. Broni would be the one to advise you from there.

  11. #11
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586
    Midknyte, I re-ran malwarebytes and clicked quarantine on all 10280 entries that it found. I re-ran malwarebytes and ran my AV again and both come out fine. I located the entry that was still listed in my programs section after clicking the start button and just deleted it. It was a shortcut item that didn't get removed when I uninstalled the program. I suppose I don't have to be concerned at this point and everything should be fine with my laptop?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    That's progress. I would delete the quarantined files. Personally, I would get rid of Avast.

    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...s-private-data

    If you want to be extra sure, create a new thread in the ICU as I stated before.

  13. #13
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,586
    Midknyte, I will think about if I will post in the ICU section, but all seems fine. Thank you for that thread regarding Avast selling of data. I uninstalled Avast and attempting to install Bitdefender AV Plus free version. During the installation, I receive a message "potential incompatible software" message (Avast Update Helper) and another windows asking me to create a Bidefender account or log in. When I click continue, it reboots my laptop and takes me to the same "incompatible software" message. It won't allow me to complete the installation.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,121
    You probably need to use Geek or Revo to uninstall Avast. Or you could try the Avast uninstaller.

    https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

    Which version of Windows are you running?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    299
    JLS, I too got rid of AVAST, for the same reason, and installed BitDefender on my desktop system running Windows 7. I had a similar problem, having to click on a link only to have my computer reboot. I can't remember the details, but I found a way around the problem and now have BitDefender up and running on that system. There is a way, and it can't be too difficult if I found the way to install BitDefender.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •