Which ones are the A fans and which are the B? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 39

Thread: Which ones are the A fans and which are the B?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    I switched the RAM sticks - no difference.
    I tried my old graphics card - no difference.
    I tried the optional CPU header - no difference.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    If you want to use a fan controller with the fans, the fan controller needs a connection to the power supply.

    https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...board.1822620/

    https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...an-controller/

    Case manual:

    https://www.rosewill.com/download/11...er-manual-pdf/

    The number 1 fan is whichever one you want to be number 1 - you decide.

    The thermal sensor, if you have one, should be a thermistor with 2 leads and a connector.

    Did you get both of the power connectors from the power supply to the motherboard connected?

    What CPU (exact model) are you using?

    What memory (exact make and model number) are you using?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    >Did you get both of the power connectors from the power supply to the motherboard connected?
    Yes, one near the processor at top left and one half way down the right side.

    >The thermal sensor, if you have one, should be a thermistor with 2 leads and a connector.
    Correct but no connector provided.

    >The number 1 fan is whichever one you want to be number 1 - you decide.
    That's what I did. If I can't have speed control then it only matters that enough fans are running.

    Processor is:
    Intel i9-9900K

    Memory is:
    G.Skill Aegis 2 x 16 gig 3200 mhz

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    >The thermal sensor, if you have one, should be a thermistor with 2 leads and a connector.
    Correct but no connector provided.
    You have us confused with this issue.
    Do you have a thermal sensor as part of the motherboard accessories?
    If yes, does it have a connector on the leads or are they bare wires?
    If it has a connector, what type is it?
    Will it fit on the motherboard pins for it as shown on page 1-16 of the motherboard manual?


    Case fan controller information:

    https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...stion.1493266/

    https://www.overclockers.com/forums/...r-Bulding-Help

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    Sorry for the confusion, my first time.

    >Do you have a thermal sensor as part of the motherboard accessories?
    I don't know what mobo accessories means, I do have a place on the mobo for a two pin thermal sensor connector. I don't have anything to attach to it.

    >If yes, does it have a connector on the leads or are they bare wires?
    There is no connector, only a location on the mobo to put it if I had one.

    >Will it fit on the motherboard pins for it as shown on page 1-16 of the motherboard manual?
    Connector doesn't exist. Only a destination.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    11,126
    According to pg. xiv of the manual, the thermal sensor cable should have come with the motherboard. It's optional, though. CPUs have a thermal sensor in them already.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    The Core i9-9900K CPU needs BUIOS version 1005 or later, according to the link below:

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

    The memory support page is here:

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_QVL/

    You can download the .pdf list from there.

    If your memory is DDR4 it looks like it is probably on the list.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    >The Core i9-9900K CPU needs BIOS version 1005
    Is there any way of telling what I have before it boots?

    Mem is DDR4 and the bold part is found in the QVL F4-3600C19D-32GVRB but there's nothing ending in GVRB, does that matter? I'm not getting a memory error light.

    What I do have is a white error light on the board, meaning the VGA has a problem. I'm using the on-board graphics, what do you think is the problem? If a driver isn't found, wouldn't it boot with a generic windows driver?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    There may be a sticker on the motherboard or the box it came in that has the BIOS version number on it.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    >There may be a sticker o
    Good point.

    So what do you recommend I try with this problem VGA? The error lights are a handy feature, maybe better than beeps but all I can try is a different HDMI cable. I guess I could try my old graphics card again.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    What connections does your monitor have? You could try using the DisplayPort , if your monitor has an DisplayPort input. You could also try a video card. However, I would check the BIOS version first, since nothing may work if the CPU is not recognized.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    >There may be a sticker o
    Good point.

    So what do you recommend I try with this problem VGA? The error lights are a handy feature, maybe better than beeps but all I can try is a different HDMI cable. I guess I could try my old graphics card again. I was about to whine and moan some more when I got in! So it's running but have to read about BiOS options.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    I'm up and running in the BIOS - that's a relief, I was beginning to wonder if I'd broken something.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,697
    Excellent. If you can get to the BIOS, you should be OK on the build with parts compatibility.

    Check the temperatures in the BIOS, if it shows them, and review all settings to verify that they are correct, and you are then ready to install an OS.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,764
    I have my old C:\ drive in there with an OS on it, the BIOS sees the disk but doesn't recognize it as a boot drive. What should I do, could the drive be attached to the wrong header?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •