[RESOLVED] Chrome history strange
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: [RESOLVED] Chrome history strange

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Chrome history strange

    I have to use Chrome 68, unfortunately, for online work. The Chrome forum isn't replying and I'm not surprised.

    I have a Google account for YouTube, but I don;t log into it when using Chrome, where I'm anonymous and I've unchecked their spyware settings. I have not deleted my history. If I click "History" in the toolbar, it will show me my last 9 pages in a box. But if I hit CTL+H, it says "Your Chrome history appears here" but the page is otherwise blank. I can't find anything on the web except for deleted history. It's been going on for a while.

    I have a cache in my profile folder of 1.1 GB, and all the files have no extension.
    Last edited by foxy; September 5th, 2019 at 12:49 AM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    All web browser's "history" displays appear strange from what I have seen.

    On the no file extensions, you do have Windows set to show extensions for all files I assume.

    Possibly useful link:

    https://support.google.com/chrome/fo...d=N_bAnhrB6qUJ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    Blank is not just strange, it's not anything.

    Yes, I always set Win to show all file ext. In my other Win 7 machine, the cache also has no file ext, so maybe it's normal. And I do get History on that one with CTl+H. One of the reasons I have them both set up similarly.

    I'm not redoing my profile. It was too hard to make this one just so with all the privacy settings and an arcane theme that I can read. And they'll try to update my version to the current one. As an alternative, can I make the navigation arrow show more than a few pages? my history searches are always for today's recent pages.

    If You come up with anything else, please pick this up again. Their forum is pitiable compared to Mozillazine, or compared to any forum I belong to. Someone has upvoted (I think not a real word) my question on the forum.
    Last edited by foxy; September 6th, 2019 at 08:23 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    Browser profiles ALWAYS get corrupted periodically, because all web browsers are junk software where security and reliability are afterthoughts if they are though of at all.

    You should back up your profile while you still can.

    Possibly useful links:

    https://smallbusiness.chron.com/expo...ile-79321.html

    https://www.repairwin.com/how-to-bac...ks-extensions/

    https://www.howtogeek.com/255653/how...mac-and-linux/

    https://hellboundbloggers.com/backup...profile/50609/

    https://www.wikihow.com/Backup-and-R...ntire-Settings

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    It is backed up but not in a few months: other computer and exterior HD.

    Will just copy the one from my other computer, same version of Chrome, same OS, originally the profiles were identical. I didn't know i could do that in Chrome. I don't need any history older than the same day.

    .
    Last edited by foxy; September 7th, 2019 at 03:31 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    Won't let me edit.

    When I first tried copying User Data from here to my other computer a few months ago, I read you can't do that. Now it says i can use a backup.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    It would appear that the History shown using Control+H is not the same information that is in the Toolbar history. Below are some additional links that might be helpful:

    https://support.google.com/chrome/fo...me/2w2ylYEZDgQ

    https://support.google.com/chrome/fo...d=N_bAnhrB6qUJ

    https://www.wintips.org/google-chrome-history-is-empty/

    https://developer.chrome.com/extensions/history

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    I hate this program.
    I know it's not the same. Toolbar history shows about 10 pages, CTL+H shows nothing.

    I have about 25 scripts with TamperMonkey for the website where I work, which is why I'm reluctant to get a new profile. They come from different sources.

    I don't want to screw around with Chrome's programming. There's close to zero help at their forum, and my original query is still unanswered.

    I'll import my profile with the same scripts from my other machine.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    I think the Control+H list only shows history if you are logged in to your Google account. No login, no history.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    Not so; I had history till recently.

    Just had an idea. Extracted the 5/7 UserData folder from my Macrium backup. I thought you couldn't extract a single folder. Duh.
    Last edited by foxy; September 9th, 2019 at 09:50 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    Did you try logging in to see what you get then?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,155
    Logging? I have my history page back.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •