Finding hardware specs on wiped computers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finding hardware specs on wiped computers

Finding hardware specs on wiped computers

My friend's husband was a retired IT person. He left 12 computers, and she said I could have one. I'm looking for one that would have the minimum requirements or better for Win 10 and I would use this just for work. A user on sevenforums has a highly customized Win 10 with a tutorial, and I want to buy 10 and install it.

Problem is, my friend had someone come over from my computer club and wipe all the HD's because she's planning of taking them to Staples for recycling.

Now I have to go into the BIOS of each machine and look at the hardware, except the one I know was XP.

1--if I don't know what brand of BIOS is in a machine, is F10 universal?
    2--I'm not an expert on reading a BIOS. Aside from the size of the HD, what else should I look at? I don't need high-powered graphics cards or sound.
    Last edited by foxy; August 28th, 2019 at 01:01 AM.

Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; Win 7 Ult/Verizon FIOS wired network
    Waterfox Classic/Chrome / Firefox 115esr
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

I can't edit the post. I wanted to explain that my friend's husband had passed on.

Win7 Ult/ 3.40 GHZ Intel Core i5-3570K /ASRock mobo Z77 Pro4 /SSD/ EUFI MS 3400 MHZ/8 GB RAM; Win 7 Ult/Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

photolady is offline Lifetime Friend of Site Staff
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    What brand is the computer you want specs on?

If a brand name you go to the brand name's site and look that up. If home built, the BIOS will not tell you what specs are in the computer, you have to open the case and look at each component.