THIS IS EXTREMELY URGENT AND I NEED HELP TOO - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: THIS IS EXTREMELY URGENT AND I NEED HELP TOO

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,386
    Is what you are seeing something like this:

    https://askleo.com/whats-new-people-icon-taskbar/

    If not, post a screen capture of it (don't hover over it first though).

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,157
    Searched it, can't connect the message to any program. Maybe a game?

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,028
    No jdc, it is simply a tiny white (black outlined circle with a dot about the size of pencil dot in middle. If I quickly hover over it it says "Someone is in your space" It leaves too fast to take screen shot.
    Last edited by Msbsgblue; May 30th, 2019 at 02:15 AM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,386
    I have not been able to find a reference to any notification message like that. If it is not from a game (or even if it is), I would be running some scans to figure out what is generating it and remove it. Try Malwarebytes at least.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,920
    Could be this:


    https://www.neowin.net/news/windows-...e-system-tray/


    The icon [....] is Windows letting you know that an application is using your location.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,386
    Nice find, fink. That looks like it. If so, it should not be a problem, although it may be desirable to change security settings to block programs from using the Location information as detailed in your article. I don't see that tray icon since I have Location access disabled on ALL programs.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,157
    I know this is a month-old thread, but is it possible to block location-finding in programs in Win 7? How about in web browsers? I use duckduckgo and Startpage for searching, scrub my cookies out with bleach ;-) but I still get pages on the web guessing my approximate location. It's creepy. (No, I don't have a smart-phone, so no issues there.)

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,920
    They're seeing your location via your IP address. Using a VPN would stop that. I occasionally use Browsec VPN free browser add-on to be able to watch location restricted video/tv broadcasts from outside Canada. It seems to work quite well although it throttles max speed to a fairly significant degree. There are many others. The best ones are not free and are a system installation not narrowly used as an add-on for the browser only.

    https://browsec.com/en/

    https://www.pcmag.com/roundup/296955...t-vpn-services

    NordVPN is popular.

    Avast a/v has one built in but it's not free.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,157
    Using it only with the browser is fine by me, but my experience in the past is that they slowed down my browser to a crawl. I'll try 1 or 2 to see the current state.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 GHZ Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/Waterfox/TB/Chrome/Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    666
    this is only for mobiles, or also for PC?
    thanks

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,920
    @cima2003.. Which part of the thread are you referring to? It's changed subjects more than once since it was started.

    FWIW all of my answers above refer only to PC's.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •