A program I have used before will not install now. App blocked for my protection?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A program I have used before will not install now. App blocked for my protection?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    139

    A program I have used before will not install now. App blocked for my protection?

    As the title reads, this is an application I have used many times before. Now it will not install and I get a UAC window with no option to install it, only to close. It is a free mouse auto clicker. I have never had an issue in the past but since my last format, something seems to have changed. I know I could dive into the registry and disable LUA but considering I do not know exactly what the impact of that is, system-wide, how wise is it? Is there another way to fix this or is this perfectly acceptable? Could someone explain to me what, exactly, LUA is and does? I have read the basics through wiki but I need to know more.

    Thank you.

    ~Ross.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 13th, 2019 at 10:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    139
    Alright, I do know what it is now, however why would a limited user account effect it like this though? What has changed? Is the LUA in a Windows 10 Registry normally set to 1 or 0? I wish I knew these answers. I assume it would be okay to disable this then, correct? My UAC at any setting didn't help.

    The reg key is at

    Code:
    \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System 
    
    Right side
    
    EnableLUA
    Can someone look for me? Is their value set to 1 or 0?
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 13th, 2019 at 11:58 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,533
    What happens if you right click on the file and select "Run as Admin?"
    "They say "don't try this at home" so I'm coming over to your house to try it."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    139
    Same deal. I tried that right away. Like I said. This one is red and not the yellow color you normally get. I know there is nothing wrong with the file. It's the same one I've been using for 3 years now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,219
    EnableLUA is set to 1 on my system.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    139
    As it turns out, I had apparently downloaded a new version the other night (after a few drinks) and was trying to install that one. There are definite security flaws in it too! When I looked into my backups I noticed that I had a different version of the program. The one I normally install. I installed that one without a hitch. Even with turning my UAC all the way down the new version wouldn't install without setting a warning off. I have never seen a program set off a red flag ( or window in this case) like that. Check this out.

    Untitled.jpg

    I really want to run a backup and turn LUA off and run it and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,839
    Submit that .exe file here first and see what it says.

    https://www.virustotal.com/gui/home/upload
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    cat lovers click here

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •