[RESOLVED] Back to it again. RX 580 x2 Video cards. Adapters? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42

Thread: [RESOLVED] Back to it again. RX 580 x2 Video cards. Adapters?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Alright. The 1 card is in. I am so peeved. I was going to put 16 gb of matching ram in and forgot. The 1 card is up.

    Dare me. I'll try 2 on this psu. Regular clock.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Yeah they hate me already.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Good stress test, bad frame rates. The power maxxed only seems to draw 180 maybe 195. GPU draw is about 180. VDDC stays at 5-8. I didn't think this card would draw that much. VDDCI draws about 13 as well.

    New power supply. I didn't want to do all this.
    On a plus side? These pcie' are 3.0....Lucky I guess.

    Board specs say 2.0

    I think I overkilled it.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 8th, 2019 at 09:59 PM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    Well, I did warn you. Now at least you can add the extra RAM, too.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Ok. Good and bad. Amazingly the psu handles both cards pulling about 300w (more than I OP'd) per card. I think my 480's ran better. I am having low frame rates after numerous drivers. I also cannot give them more power due to the constraints.

    Help??

    And the extra light wasn't needed. Just my own personal complaint.
    No darkness here photolady.

    Ram goes in as well.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 9th, 2019 at 07:15 AM.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    I don't know what to tell you about frame rates. But I've found that parts I buy at Amazon are sometimes, not first runs but perhaps being sold as new when they're actually products that have been returned. I've gotten motherboards there that died right out of the box, Video cards that go bad within a few months, to less than that. I've stopped buying computer parts from them, and now buy from Newegg. And I make sure they don't come from any third party seller, too.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Last one I think.

    The cards temps seem to stick around 80c under load. Is that normal on these or should I do the obvious (reseat heat sinks)? Pretty sure I've got some NT-H1 around.
    photolady. These were bought used. I was ok with that considering paying 80 usd per card.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 10th, 2019 at 04:01 PM.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,250
    For RX 480 cards, 80 C at full load would be about right. RX 580 cards should probably be more like 69 C at full load.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Ugh. Okay I resat both heatsinks. My temps dropped in a big way. Under stress loads I am keeping both cards at about 64c. I also ended up getting better frame rates by disabling ram interleaving. (odd). I understand what the channel inerleaving is for but I didn't expect it to effect the video. Stranger things? No crashes yet. I just may be happy. Also I seem to only experience a 2-4% bottleneck from the cpu. I think I have pushed this rig pretty far.

    On a side note: My OC is great. 5.1 GHz and air cooled in ambient of 21c.

    I'll post back. And they are ROG cards. I guess I did make out buying them.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 10th, 2019 at 08:26 PM.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Nevermind. Shadow of the tomb raider fixed that. Temps ramped back up to 80c. Hard crash too. Power draw? I maxxed at 200w and 185 vddc. And to think that this thing started as just a video server.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Oh that was a single card run.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Power supply change and my frame rates are up. I guess it did matter that much. I was getting random web pages locking up too.

    2 cards are running healthy now and I'm running x-fire when I can. I haven't had an issue since (after a couple of days of testing).

    I think I got it now.

    Were the higher temps due to lack of power?
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 12th, 2019 at 02:44 AM.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashalon1 View Post
    Power supply change and my frame rates are up. I guess it did matter that much. I was getting random web pages locking up too.

    2 cards are running healthy now and I'm running x-fire when I can. I haven't had an issue since (after a couple of days of testing).

    I think I got it now.

    Were the higher temps due to lack of power?
    I don't know about lack of power and higher temps but it could have been, since it was lagging it was trying to pull more power than the psu had to give.

    Power supplies matter a lot more than we think they do. That's why we buy them in a higher power than is needed than is usually recommended.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    151
    Is it ok to undervolt these differently? On that same deal, these things just run hot so I added some more cooling which seems to help. CPU temps are stable at about 31c. Since I am always trying to get a higher clock as well I pose another question. Would it be safe to add a NO type electrical button to the cmos jumper so I don't have to constantly open my case?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,250

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •